Potion

bone marrow blood s

I will make
my own potion, thank
you.  If it’s
unclear to
your eyes, that’s only a sign
of muddled vision.

(although it’s
not a test—not at
all!)   Focus
on what lies
beneath.  Muse in the quiet
of the space between.

potion close up comp

Collage based on a microscopic photo of bone marrow blood.  I first made a background of the ocean, then cut up a painting I hadn’t used for anything, then glued some tissue paper on top to get some transparency.

blood orig s

The words are from
the secret keeper
Weekly Writing Prompt #30
(5) Words: | TEST | POTION | MUSE | OWN | SIGN |

I’ve read quite a few poetic responses and they all express a different and singular point of view.  A very fertile word grouping!

Tags: , , , ,

24 responses to “Potion”

  1. TheDoxieTruth says :

    Wow I never would have guessed that was blood! This is a really creative & cool piece!

  2. Susan Feniak says :

    Beautiful collage.

  3. Jodi says :

    Wow – amazing use of mediums, artistic impression and words! bravo!

  4. merrildsmith says :

    I love your poem. You are right that all of the responses to these words have been so different.
    The collage is very cool, too. 🙂

  5. Lynz Real Cooking says :

    Never would have thought of that!

  6. Teresa Robeson says :

    Art based on science…how awesome is that?! Goes so well with the poem, too. 💕

  7. Sharon Mann says :

    When I squint my eyes, the images become 3-D. Very imaginative Kerfe!

  8. Claudia McGill says :

    The beauty is in the details, isn’t it? I love the poem, I love the art.

  9. D.S. says :

    So cool! Blood marrow, poetry and art — such a stunning combination, and a powerful one as well.

  10. the secret keeper says :

    Your collage art is a marvelous original creation. My favorite line from your poem is”

    “Muse in the quiet
    of the space between.”

    Great line.

Leave a Reply

