April 2016: Out of the Mist

out of the mist s

rowing
out of the mist
into the bright colors
–Larry Gates

April is National Poetry Month, and I begin the month with my usual grid and haiku.  Once again I could not find out much about the poet, Larry Gates.  He is NOT the actor Larry Gates, he was born in Chicago in 1942, and he’s written a lot of hummingbird haiku.  He also experimented with different haiku forms.  This one seemed appropriate for moving from winter into spring.

National Poetry Month also means NaPoWriMo 2016, and the challenge to write a poem a day for the month of April.  I don’t always post every day, but I will attempt to meet the challenge, and post the “extra” poems on the days I do post.

out of the mist close up s

April being the month of fools, I think they will make appearances now and then.

fool #1

unknowing pilgrim
the road is nowhere it moves
away it falls up
into nothing big zero
no destination step through

Needs some art though…perhaps for the next one.

out of the mist orig s

For the grid, I used one of the handmade paper scraps from Carriage House Paper that had a design incorporated into the paper and pasted a checkerboard grid on top of it.

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

28 responses to “April 2016: Out of the Mist”

  1. Claudia McGill says :

    I like everything about this post, the guest poem, the resident poem, and the art – love the underlying design peeking through the superimposed upper – sort of like poetry in visual form! Happy Poetry month and what a great way to start my day!

  2. Sharon Mann says :

    I agree with Claudia, what a nice way to start my day. I’ll look forward to the words and art in April. I do like your collage and painted paper very much.

  3. Michael Richards (certainline) says :

    I’m with Claudia and Sharon – all of this is terrific. I do love a grid and yours are tremendous!

  4. Cathe says :

    What an amazing post! Great way to start April!

  5. Oloriel says :

    Lovely poetry! I am looking forward to reading your NaPoWriMo efforts, and beyond! Have a great day!

  6. Laura (Createarteveryday) says :

    I hope to one day see your work on exhibition. Always impactful, thought-provoking, beautiful and moving. Thank you, Kerfe!!! Absolutely love the collage and peekaboo painting in grid style. Wonderful verse, as always. Home run!

  7. D.S. says :

    Kerfe, so glad I made you my first stop today, for I’ve learned and enjoyed much. For instance, you reminded me that today is the first day of National Poetry Month! I’d almost forgotten (how could I have forgotten?!). Also, I’ve learned about a new poet, Mr. Gates, whom I now need to look up. And too you’ve entreated me with your wonderful haiku and delightful art (so beautiful). And .. I didn’t know this is NaPoWriMo and I love that idea so much I may just have to try it! So, thank you, thank you! 🙂

  8. Charlie O'Shields (doodlewash) says :

    This is going to be a great month!! Yay!! Can’t wait to read your poetry! This grid is seriously awesome…I love those colors so much. Really beautiful!! 😍

  9. memadtwo says :

    I agree with Laura: I want to see your work on exhibit. Or, alternatively, you should publish a book with different chapters: grids, netsuke, animals. I think it would be a best seller (on WordPress, at least): ).

  10. rivrvlogr says :

    I like the effect of the grid overlay.
    I think we’re all unknowing pilgrims, with tomorrow always in question.

  11. Teresa Robeson says :

    I’d like to try doing a poem a day for National Poetry Month but we’ll see how I get with that. 😀 I really like the art you created to go with Gates’ poem as well as the poem you wrote!

  12. artandmoondreams says :

    Wonderful poetry, fantastic art…definitely a fan of your grid art. April sounds like a thrilling month, looking forward to more verse and art.

Leave a Reply

