Colorful Landscape

The gouache resist technique is not working like it should. Either the ink has changed or I’m washing it off too soon. The white areas should have stayed very black. Oh well, it’s still kind of a colorful landscape anyway. 

Here is the original and then covered over with ink. I will do another one and let the ink dry completely. Happy April and happy Friday! 

   

About memadtwo

For more madness, follow me on Instagram @h_zimel :)

18 responses to “Colorful Landscape”

  1. Claudia McGill says :

    I LOVE this and I love the technique. I am wondering if it is hard to keep in mind what you want to remain black as you work and have to leave the spaces open for it to happen?

    Like

  2. memadtwo says :

    I thought I really left sufficient white space when I painted it–I did it pretty deliberately. (See original to see what I mean). I think I may be washing it off too quickly in my impatience to see the result. Problem I’ve had for years (Aries trait I guess).

    Liked by 1 person

  3. memadtwo says :

    Well you know I love your landscapes. The white clouds are especially wonderful…you put masking on to keep those white, right? I like the amount of black, but I see what you mean about expecting more to show. On the other hand, how well I understand the impatience…(K)

    Like

  4. memadtwo says :

    Actually I did the clouds by globbing on a huge amount of paint (with my finger, too impatient for a brush even). Then I globbed on more because some green got on the clouds after the wash-off. It’s kind of a sweet little painting and very typical of me and my style.

    Like

  5. Susan Feniak says :

    Love all the color. Sounds like you had fun creating and globbing! πŸ™‚

    Like

  6. alisonsye says :

    I love it like this. I think sometimes the best things come from what at first seems like a mistake

    Like

  7. Lynz Real Cooking says :

    Gorgeous landscape!

    Like

  8. Teresa Robeson says :

    I think it looks amazing and am not sure what is supposed to be wrong with it. πŸ™‚

    Like

    • memadtwo says :

      Usually the gouache resist leaves much deeper blacks. I filled in a lot of the spaces that got watered down–not sure if I didn’t leave the ink on long enough, but thanks for liking it, Teresa, much appreciated comment!

      Liked by 1 person

  9. Jill Kuhn says :

    I have done this technique with a bird drawing. If I recall I had to wait quite awhile for the ink to dry…that was hard for me to do too! πŸ˜‰ I still like how yours turned out though. I really like how you did your landscape! The colors and shapes are gorgeous! :-)))

    Like

  10. Cathe says :

    I love what you are creating with this technique! Thank you for sharing the steps. I think this one is a real beauty even if it wasn’t exactly exactly what you planned, isn’t that like art!

    Like

  11. artandmoondreams says :

    Great looking landscape, even if it might not have gone exactly to plan it still looks beautiful. Love the variety of shapes and color, really uplifting scenery.

    Like

Leave a Reply

