National School Librarian Day

m grad s

…that would be my mother Middie.

Charlie at Doodlewash is sponsoring a month of celebrated days, and April 4 is National School Librarian Day.  My mother worked in elementary school and high school libraries, but ended up in junior high school.  My favorite story was the time she told a student to stop messing with his rubber snake and give it to her…he threw it over and it was a real snake! (she claimed she didn’t flinch)

This topic also segues nicely into the NaPoWriMo prompt to write a family poem.  My mother and I had a contentious relationship, particularly during my adolescence, and another cleave poem seemed just right to express our particular brand of love.

 km comp

Dialogue

I was born  you were born
into potential  future unknown
open  uncertain
growing  learning
difficult  ambivalent
contradictory  vulnerable
I yell  you cry
you cry  I yell
you don’t hear me  you don’t listen
look at me  acknowledge me
listen to me  talk to me
I need support  I need respect
I am afraid of losing you
hold my hand
I love you

Thank your local government if the schools still have functioning libraries.  Work to put them back if they don’t.  And a tip of the hat to all the people who keep our libraries alive.

poetry month

Tags: , , , , , , ,

About memadtwo

For more madness, follow me on Instagram @h_zimel

37 responses to “National School Librarian Day”

  1. Jane Dougherty says :

    It is the perfect form to say this. You’re lucky to be able to write about it now.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. nananoyz says :

    Shared this on FB. Loved it.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Jodi says :

    Such a beautiful writing that so many of us can relate to. Beautiful drawings too! Wow – you captured the family resemblance and personalities so amazingly!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Michael Richards (certainline) says :

    Beautiful writing and wonderful drawings – a heart-warming post. Thank you.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Lynz Real Cooking says :

    Such a touching post!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. memadtwo says :

    I am sorry you weren’t able to resolve things with your Mom. You were there for her at the end. To me you are so Zen, philosophical and even tempered that I can’t imagine you making your mom cry. This is a wonderful post–I can see the resemblance. It’s so strange that both our moms were school librarians.

    Liked by 1 person

    • memadtwo says :

      I always hope that those hours of just sitting with her and holding her hand became part of her consciousness. My father told me after I moved out that he was glad to be rid of the constant drama! Now I can see that we were both trying to say the same things. It’s nice we have a day to honor our Moms…thanks Charlie!

      Like

  7. rivrvlogr says :

    It’s so apt that you bring them together at the end, as they’re saying the same thing, albeit in different languages.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Sharon Mann says :

    Your poem and portraits gave me goosebumps. I don’t think all can ever be resolved.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Charlie O'Shields (doodlewash) says :

    This is just an amazing post and I don’t even know where to begin. The images are incredible and the words… just fantastic words with so much emotion and story. Love this Kerfe❤️

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Jill Kuhn says :

    I can really relate to your feelings in your poem. My mom and I fought a lot too but we became friends in the last 6 months of her life. That will always be a gift to me. ❤️ Thank you for sharing your beautiful art from your heart. 😊

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Teresa Robeson says :

    Oh, that brings back such bittersweet memories of my adolescent relationship with my mom, too. So beautiful…💜

    Liked by 1 person

  12. artandmoondreams says :

    Love libraries (and the librarians who care for them), love your painted portraits and love the poem. The emotional push/pull feels so tangible, so familiar, and yet so universal. Great feature, thank you for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. merrildsmith says :

    Wonderful poem. How fitting to use the cleave format for your family poem.
    I also love libraries!

    Liked by 1 person

  14. jazzytower says :

    I like the melding of the two in the end too. Adolescence..nature’s prank!!#$@&

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

