Dear Edyth

forest stream type

Dear Edyth,
The train ride home was
quite routine.
We arrived
on Sunday, just in time for
the town hall meeting.

Time will not
fade the memories
of fine times
and good friends.
I hear Uncle Charles needs help.
I will come Thursday.

Edna will
accompany me.
We can cook
and comfort
as long as necessary.
with love from Florence.

forest and stream

As usual, a combination of a number of things.  I bought a bunch of old postcards, having some vague idea of using them for found poetry and art.  But I haven’t done anything with them

postcard rain 1

Then I went to the “Unorthodox” exhibit at the Jewish Museum.  On display was a group of typed postcard art done by Endre Tot.  I had never heard of him, but he is a Hungarian artist, a member of Fluxus (a Dada-inspired movement), and is known for his mail art.

zero rain s

I had been thinking about typewriter art after seeing some of the recent work done by Marcy Erb at Illustrated Poetry.  So I took one of the postcards and “typed” over it in Photoshop.  In some ways, much more flexible than using a manual typewriter, but in many ways, actually, not.  It took me a long time to figure out how to do it!  And not perfectly realized by any means:  but a start.

forest and stream back

The poem is a three verse shadorma, found poetry using the letter on the back of the postcard and the secret keeper’s words for the week:  (5) Words: | TOWN | TRAIN | FADE | HEAR | HALL | 

…and if you stretch it, maybe it satisfies the NaPoWriMo prompt for a train poem…

All in all, an interesting exercise, and one I hope to explore further.

poetry month

About memadtwo

For more madness, follow me on Instagram @h_zimel

42 responses to “Dear Edyth”

  1. Michael Richards (certainline) says :

    How lovely, and what a thrill to make something so touching out of a scribbled message on an old card.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Jodi says :

    So lovely!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. nananoyz says :

    Exceptional!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Susan Feniak says :

    Once again I must say very creative and imaginative.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Lynz Real Cooking says :

    I love this presentation! It is amazing!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Charlie O'Shields (doodlewash) says :

    This is such a cool idea! I love what you did with this… might be one of my favorites so far! 😃

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Crow says :

    Really lovely.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. bilderbogenblog says :

    I like the idea. Old and new in combination.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. merrildsmith says :

    This is so cool how you combined these various things to create a lovely poem. I love the history and the art!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Teresa Robeson says :

    I just love how creative you are in coming up, and playing, with new forms, combining technology with old things or re-using found items!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. memadtwo says :

    I am continually amazed by you.

    Like

  12. Eileen McKenna {my creative resolution} says :

    I love the poem. Really interesting project!

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Sharon Mann says :

    This is so meaningful Kerfe, I have some letters written to my great great grandmother from a friend. I think I’ll get them out and reread. Thank you for posting.

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Elusive Trope says :

    All off this is really intriguing, the mixing of past (found) and future (photoshopping) is awesome

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Jennifer G. Knoblock says :

    Inspiring, start to finish. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  16. davekingsbury says :

    Your work somehow reminds me of the writer WG Sebald, who uses found pics and his own in his texts. Have you read any?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

