Draw a Bird 2

I’ve been watching a live cam of great horned owls in Savannah, Ga., for weeks now. I did a drawing of the mom and her two owlets so why not post another bird for today? I could watch them for hours even though they mostly just sit there. Some days I wish I was just sitting in a nest endlessly. It looks so peaceful and maybe a little boring but the owls don’t look bored in the least. 

29 responses to “Draw a Bird 2”

  1. Jet Eliot says :

    A lovely way to spend time, watching a nest full of owls — and your drawing is wonderful.

    • memadtwo says :

      I just love watching them. I can also hear the sounds of nature in the background, birds singing, and it’s cool when the mother brings in a meal: egrets, water rats, ets. Endlessly fascinating. Thanks for stopping by!

  2. memadtwo says :

    Nature is good, even on the screen. I love that you hear the sounds too! You can see the contentment in your drawing. K.

  3. Jill Kuhn says :

    Owls are amazing! I like your sketch and what you said about nesting. It does look very peaceful. 🙂
    Here is my link to my bird for today: https://artjillkuhn.wordpress.com/2016/04/08/a-joyful-bird/

  4. Jodi says :

    How lovely and peaceful to watch and great drawing Nina! makes me almost feel peaceful on a very busy work day 🙂

  5. merrildsmith says :

    I love these owls!

  6. Teresa Robeson says :

    Watching bird cams is meditative! Owls are especially Zen. Thanks for sharing this one with us!

  7. Susan Feniak says :

    Lucky us a two for bird day!

  8. Sharon Mann says :

    We are fortunate to have birdie cams to follow the life of nesting birds. Lovely drawing Nina.

  9. Lynz Real Cooking says :

    how wonderful to see that! They look so peaceful!

  10. M.R. Emberson says :

    Cams are the way to go! Cute drawing!

  11. cavepainter says :

    I’m looking at them now. The babies are like “Mom! Where are you? It’s windy!”

    Looks like their savannahowls twitter account retweeted a drawing of them. You should show them this one. 🙂

  12. Cathe says :

    I’m with you too, I watch an owl cam too and love it, even when they sleep they are so interesting. Your sketch captures the owls perfectly!

  13. REcreate-RebeccaEvansCreate says :

    Love bird cams, we have a small one at work, but also a few secret location bird cams appear in the new forest if we happen to have rare birds of prey nest in the year. How wonderful to see the long horned owl in its natural surroundings, and owlets….I have only seen photos, or once a captive, at a bird sanctuary.

  14. artandmoondreams says :

    Beautiful drawing, love the strong lines. Has a nice feeling of strength and protectiveness. Nicely done.

  15. Myriam (Myr's Bytes) says :

    Great drawing :-). It *is* fun to see what the owlets are doing! I saw my first Great Horned Owlets this year in real life. They are soooooo fluffy. And those eyes!

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Draw a Bird Day Roundup for April 2016 | method two madness - April 14, 2016

Leave a Reply

