Tortoise Shell

 turtle rorschach stitched s

Reading between the lines:
story or history?
Ancient tongues disguise words.

Who will translate the words?
Who will reveal the lines
inside the history?

Is the myth history?
Behind forgotten words,
shadows of missing lines.

Lines in reverse, tangle of words, unwinding history.

turtle rorschach orig sm

This is a Rorschach painting where I not only dripped the paint onto the paper, but did a little deliberate painting too before I folded it.  I thought it resembled a turtle/tortoise shell, so I embroidered an abstract one on top.

turtle rorschach stitched close up s

The poem is a tritina, from the day 7 prompt from NaPoWritMo.net.  Not too late this time.  Does it have anything to do with the illustration?  Good question.

poetry month

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

28 responses to “Tortoise Shell”

  1. merrildsmith says :

    I really love this poem! And the painting does resemble a tortoise–a very colorful one. Some of them live to be very old–I imagine them speaking in ancient tongues. 🙂

  2. Sharon Mann says :

    Your tortoise has an ancient look, it reminds me of a cave or rock painting with the stitches added. Brilliantly conceived.

  3. Jodi says :

    That is ABSOLUTELY gorgeous Kerfe! How long does it take you to stitch something like that? Stitched by hand?

    • memadtwo says :

      It takes a couple weeks because I am so easily distracted that I can only work on things in small chunks. I bet you could do it in a day if you were able to focus for that long and had the time.

  4. Charlie O'Shields (doodlewash) says :

    I’m so thoroughly impressed!! This is so cool! The poem is wonderful. You’re like a creative machine! They just get better and better. Loving this month! 😃

    • memadtwo says :

      Thanks Charlie. NaPoWriMo is keeping me on my toes, but a month is probably about all I could sustain. Still, it’s good discipline, I need it every once in awhile!

  5. abarn003 says :

    This is so beautiful. It reminds me of the Haudenosaunee story of the woman who fell from the sky onto the turtle’s back. Wonderful.

  6. Eileen McKenna {my creative resolution} says :

    I’m coming over for an embroidery lesson! Ha ha 😄 Love your turtle!

  7. Teresa Robeson says :

    The embroidery put this over the top terrific! I like how the poem is so mysterious and goes with the legend of the wise tortoise!

  8. Elusive Trope says :

    The tortoise just shouts myth and forgotten words. The poem captures the rhythm of the ancient songs telling of long ago stories. Brilliant job.

  9. artandmoondreams says :

    Beautiful and brilliant. I can hear the heartbeat of tradition and myth in your words, and see reminders of ancient pathways with your art. The two complement each other perfectly and it is fantastic. It would make a wonderful framed duet.

  10. Lynz Real Cooking says :

    I love the poem and the art work, very different!

  11. davekingsbury says :

    Great blend of echoing poem and picture forms … harder than you’ve made it and them look!

Leave a Reply

