National Pet Day

bliss s

“You can say any foolish thing to a dog, and the dog will give you a look that says, ‘Wow, you’re right! I never would’ve thought of that!’”
–Dave Barry

blissful eyes reflect
absolute trust devotion
loyalty returned

For National Pet Day, I started with a quote in answer to Elusive Trope’s 3-day quote challenge.  And of course, a poem for NaPoWriMo.  My neocolor drawing is a portrait of Bliss, one of the beautiful golden retrievers who shares the life of Tim, The Forester Artist.  When he posted this photo in January, I remarked to him that her face begged to be drawn.  It’s taken me awhile, but she is a perfect poster girl for the day.

It’s been a long time since I drew any dogs.  I did a few drawings and paintings of one of my roommate’s wonderful dogs, Bacchus, 40+ years ago, and I think I may have a painting of one of Nina’s dogs from back in the day somewhere.  Since my animal hair allergies appeared, I haven’t been able to live with either dogs or cats, and I do feel the loss.  Pets are good companions.

And once again Celebrating the Days this month with Charlie at Doodlewash.

poetry month

Tags: , , , , , , ,

About memadtwo

For more madness, follow me on Instagram @h_zimel

43 responses to “National Pet Day”

  1. Rebecca says :

    This is great – you’ve given it so much free, furry texture and such a wonderful expression. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  2. kim881 says :

    Great picture and haiku!

    Like

  3. merrildsmith says :

    I didn’t know it was National Pet Day. I’m surprised my cats didn’t tell me. 🙂
    A beautiful doggy tribute–the quote (so true), as well as your beautiful drawing and poem.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Michael Richards (certainline) says :

    Lovely drawing – you really captured Bliss there!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Jodi says :

    love that quote and what a beautiful painting of a sweet pup! 🙂 ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Sharon Mann says :

    Hi Kerfe, the neo’s are the perfect tool for your gorgeous doggy portrait. I’m like you, I must enjoy pets from arms length.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Sand Salt Moon says :

    I love the expression and how you used the red color to make this such a special pet portrait xo

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Charlie O'Shields (doodlewash) says :

    LOVE!! Hehe… beautiful painting and your words are wonderful. So few words that really tell the whole story. Love this post and so happy you’re playing along my friend! 😍

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Susan Feniak says :

    Those words are so true. Love the expression, caught so well.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Snehal Kank says :

    At a first glance this painting made my heart happy. Wooow very nice work 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  11. D.S. says :

    Ooo, I love this! So sweet! 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  12. artandmoondreams says :

    Great quote. Your lovely poem, such an tender description and perfectly mirrors your beautiful portrait. Wonderful how you have captured the energy and nobility of your subject.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Lynz Real Cooking says :

    Such a pretty painting, fun and warm!

    Like

  14. Teresa Robeson says :

    Bliss is indeed a beauty as is your drawing of her! And I love the Dave Barry quote. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  15. foresterartist says :

    Reblogged this on THE FORESTER ARTIST and commented:
    Kerfe, thank you so much for sharing this beautiful picture of my Bliss. I love it. Your poetry is so perfect for her. I am very touched. She would give you a snuggle if she was there.

    Liked by 1 person

  16. MaryALivingston says :

    Reblogged this on Sneaking Bliss and commented:
    A beautiful portrait of our girl Bliss in honor of National Pet Day. By the talented Kerfe. Well done!

    Liked by 1 person

  17. Bobbie L Suchorukov says :

    She’s almost too beautiful.

    Liked by 1 person

  18. bennythomas says :

    I am late but I cannot turn away from a dog as cute as Bliss. Nice sketch too. Best wishes Tim,

    Like

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Diamond Dogs | A Certain Line - April 12, 2016
  2. National Pet Day – tinkertoebells - April 12, 2016

Leave a Reply

