Found on the street

I’ve found a lot of birds nests over the years but never found one as perfect as this. I guess it was dislodged in the wind and rain we’ve been having. 

I love the materials the birds use for the nest. Strips of some kind of paper (packing paper maybe?), cotton and all glued together by bird spit (I’m imagining). 

I took another shot with my little lead robin. He weighed down the nest but hey, poetic license.  

 
It’s a lovely day today. Happy Wednesday lovely WP people. 

Tags: ,

About memadtwo

For more madness, follow me on Instagram @h_zimel

31 responses to “Found on the street”

  1. Sand Salt Moon says :

    Good morning! What a wonderful find, Nina – Nina right?

    Like

  2. Sand Salt Moon says :

    Yes, Nina – I guessed right! I was looking in my WP feed, not on your blog where I could only see nature as the category. : )))

    Like

  3. Jodi says :

    What a great find. 😊

    Like

  4. memadtwo says :

    So beautiful Nina. You have a second sense for finding nature’s gifts! K.

    Like

  5. Susan Feniak says :

    Great use of materials at hand. Birds are so clever. 🙂

    Like

  6. The Crazy Crone says :

    In far north New South Wales, Australia, when we lived there, we’d get bower birds. The male would build a nest looking like a bower then surround it with brightly coloured objects, mainly blue, like clothes pegs, blue string, etc., to lure the females. We had a young bird which carefully built his bower, then got beaten up by a mature male who promptly pinched all his brightly coloured objects. We felt really sorry for the young male, he looked really disgruntled. And by the way, they make an amazing din jumping up and down and yelling and bawling to let females know where their bower is.

    Like

  7. memadtwo says :

    Wow, sure wish I could have seen that. (Not the part about the mean male who beat up the younger one. I would not have liked to see that at all. I guess that’s just nature, though).

    Like

  8. Teresa Robeson says :

    So cool! My older son brings home nests he finds and I’ve had to tell him to stop. I should just take photos of the ones we have now and toss the real things. 🙂 The cutest nest I ever saw was a Blue Gray Gnatcatcher’s.

    Like

  9. merrildsmith says :

    That nest is so cool! I wonder what kind of bird built it, and what happened when they returned home to find home wasn’t there? I love all the paper and stuff in the nest.

    Like

  10. Lynz Real Cooking says :

    You find the coolest things!

    Like

  11. D.S. says :

    Just goes to show … Birds are artists as well! What a beautiful “found object.” 🙂

    Like

  12. artandmoondreams says :

    Fantastic find! I love collecting found nests, they are such wonders of creativity and beauty. Thank you for sharing.

    Like

  13. Sharon Mann says :

    What a find, a true work of art!

    Like

  14. Claudia McGill says :

    I love this and that you appreciated its form so much. I am amazed by the beauty and the skill birds’ nests display. And we say “bird-brain” and mean it in an insulting way?

    Like

  15. M.R. Emberson says :

    Bird nests are avian works of art… all the things they find (twigs, yarn, grass, even hair and bottle caps) and decide to use to creatively construct into a functional masterpiece. This new home is perfect for your lead robin!

    Like

Leave a Reply

