Remembering Oklahoma City

ok city memorial s

Oklahoma
some homegrown
hell

done
don’t know
possessed

wrong
we stole
from

world
of hurt
swear

pay
or die
praying

light
a voice
sky

okc times s

halt
screaming all
around

pieces
a black
light

loose
these are
just

left alone
going home
that morning

Oklahoma

blackout shades of gray 1

Robert Earl Keen is a close observer and chronicler of humanity.  This blackout poem uses the lyrics of his song “Shades of Gray“, which manages to convey the emotions of the time and place without ever once directly referring to the bombing.

okc chair s

“We come here to remember those who were killed, those who survived and those changed forever. May all who leave here know the impact of violence. May this memorial offer comfort, strength, peace, hope and serenity.”

https://oklahomacitynationalmemorial.org/learn/history-mission/

poetry month

Tags: , , , , , , ,

About memadtwo

For more madness, follow me on Instagram @h_zimel :)

22 responses to “Remembering Oklahoma City”

  1. Laura (Createarteveryday) says :

    You do powerful work. I was thinking about that day this morning too. Love the flowers bringing light and hope to the center. 💜

    Liked by 2 people

    • memadtwo says :

      Thanks Laura. I saw a photo of the chairs with flowers on some of them and thought it was a beautiful tribute. The way the memorial incorporates the natural world works really well I think.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Jodi says :

    So powerful! Wow I must pause to reflect.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. merrildsmith says :

    Powerful poem. Thank you for the reminder.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Charlie O'Shields (doodlewash) says :

    This is incredible…such an amazing tribute to the day. I’ve been to that memorial and it’s impossible not to feel moved. Your work brings the same emotions. Beautifully done. 💙

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Sharon Mann says :

    Very moving Kerfe, I’m filled with emotion. Thank you for your post today.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Susan Feniak says :

    Thought provoking. Well done.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Carol says :

    What an awful day that was; what an awesome tribute.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. memadtwo says :

    Somber and beautiful. I love how you honor and remember the days of our lives.

    Like

  9. Teresa Robeson says :

    I remember that horrific day. Thank you for a somber but perfect homage to the event and the people who perished. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  10. rivrvlogr says :

    Your opening verse says it all.
    Of course, the Twin Towers, Pentagon and Flight 93 were elements of a horrendous mass scenario, but that day in 1995 was just as grand in all the wrong ways, because of the “homegrown” aspect of it. I lived in Western New York at the time, and because McVeigh’s boyhood home was in the area, the story saturated the news for a long time – interviews, profiles, more interviews. The longer it stayed on the front page, the intense grief and sadness I felt for the victims and their families seemed only to increase, and it led me to reach a decision I least expected. It cemented my stand against the death penalty. I could not rationalize taking another life.
    Ask me again, though, when it’s my child or family that’s taken. That thought scares me.

    Liked by 1 person

    • memadtwo says :

      Oklahoma City was also very chilling for me. I lived through 9/11 but this one was somehow more personal. It felt like family. Perhaps it’s the homegrown aspect; I’m not sure.
      I also connect emotionally with this memorial. I always thought they should have left the footprint of the twin towers alone, instead of building yet another ugly monument to corporate greed.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

