Poem in Your Pocket Day

Big and blue s

Moon and stars, big and blue the sky–
sleep coming, sleep is coming soon–
wings drift close, shadowing the light.
I wish for wings so I could fly–
touch the stars, touch the shining moon–
map the sky by scattering dreams,
catching the stars to say good night,
sky covered with magic moon beams.

The elementary school my daughters attended celebrated National Poetry Month in a big way.  The children read and wrote a lot of verse, and Poem in Your Pocket Day was always fun, as they would pull out favorites to read to their classmates.  Last year in April I posted a few of the bookmarks the school made one year with poems and artwork from the students.  Both poem and artwork above were inspired by the bookmark below.

midnight bookmark

I love the images both Kenisha and Keanu used to represent the dreamworld of the night.  Both would be in their early 20s now; I hope they are still writing and drawing their worlds.  And producing poems from their pockets!

hand and moon s

My poem is in the form of a san san, the challenge by Jane Dougherty this week.  NaPoWriMo used this form for a prompt too, and I’ve wanted to try it, so thanks Jane for the push!

poetry month

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

About memadtwo

For more madness, follow me on Instagram @h_zimel

28 responses to “Poem in Your Pocket Day”

  1. merrildsmith says :

    Your poem is beautiful! I especially love: “I wish for wings so I could fly–
    touch the stars, touch the shining moon–
    map the sky by scattering dreams,”

    Your inspiration is beautiful, as well. I love that you’ve kept these things. I don’t ever remember my kids celebrating Poem in a Pocket. What a shame! I also hope that Kenisha and Keanu are still writing and drawing.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Jane Dougherty says :

    So glad I pushed you 🙂 This form opens up so many possibilities and you’ve used it to perfection.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Michael Richards (certainline) says :

    A wonderfully evocative poem and image.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Lynz Real Cooking says :

    Lovely poem and cool art work. I love the story that goes with this post!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Jodi says :

    Melt my momma’s heart…. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Sharon Mann says :

    I knew you would be acknowleging this National Day Kerfe! 😄
    Your image and verse is superb! I like the use of the brown sack paper. A good resource. The children’s are and words inspire me.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Jennifer G. Knoblock says :

    So lovely, all of it. A happy hopeful post. And thanks for the reminder to find a poem for my pocket!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Philosophical Epiphanies says :

    Incredible!
    I started blogging this month, and it is a pleasure that I came across your blog.
    It has inspired me to start my next article.
    Thank you:)

    Reply

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Teresa Robeson says :

    What a sweet bookmark! I love your collage piece and poem, too! You know I was an ardent stargazer back in the day. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Charlie O'Shields (doodlewash) says :

    Cool everything in this post! Love the bookmark, the collage and the poem! I was hoping you’d be celebrating this day. That image is wonderful! 😍

    Liked by 1 person

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Poetry challenge San San: the entries – Jane Dougherty Writes - April 26, 2016

Leave a Reply

