Blue Roses 6/quilt

I’m down to six roses remaining and I feel sad. I’ve enjoyed making these pieces with the roses cut out of an old skirt. This one is the simplest and it has a kind of Warhol look. 

The stitching is hard to see in the photo. It’s not real stitching; it is drawn in. Here’s a closeup: 

 
A beautiful Friday here in my neck of the woods. Enjoy the weekend, lovely WP friends. 

Tags:

About memadtwo

For more madness, follow me on Instagram @h_zimel :)

16 responses to “Blue Roses 6/quilt”

  1. memadtwo says :

    The colors on these are amazing. It looks just like fabric, too. I think part of the appeal is the abstract quality of the flowers, and all the detail in contrast to the bright flat color. Well done!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Sharon Mann says :

    Hi Nina, I thought this piece was fabric until closer inspection. Your color choices make this quilt pop!

    Like

  3. memadtwo says :

    In a way it’s my favorite one. Only enough roses for one more, then I’ll post them all together. Thanks Sharon.

    Like

  4. rivrvlogr says :

    The stitches are a nice touch, with a real “feel”

    Like

  5. Teresa Robeson says :

    Your faux quilt-Warhol riff is as lovely as a real quilt!

    Like

  6. Jodi says :

    Such a happy ending for the blue flowers. Love the colors and love the placement of the blue roses – how some are centered and some off-centered around the stitching. Lots of fun!

    Like

  7. Carol King says :

    this is very cool.

    Like

  8. Claudia McGill says :

    I’m beginning to see the roses as wigs. Oh dear. I think it was because you mentioned Andy Warhol and I think of his hair. It all got mixed up in my head and strangely enough, I like this piece even more now that it happened.

    This makes no sense, so let me just say, this is my favorite rose composition you’ve done.

    Like

  9. Dave Whatt says :

    Hm… Very Warhol-like – nice!…

    Like

Leave a Reply

