Talk Like Shakespeare Today

shakespears fool s

It’s his birthday!

What fools, what fools, what fools these mortals be
what fools to mimic riches glitter fame
what fools to in those masks refinement see
what fools embraceth folly without shame

Where every likeness hath its own deceit
wherein it looketh match to opposite
pretended twin to answer in repeat
the shoe that forceth toes and heel to fit

With voices like to painted artifice
with jaws that stretcheth into polished teeth
with promises that proveth meaningless
duplicity a smile cached underneath

And will the masquerade yet come undone?
I fear the jester killeth us with fun.

shakespeares fool close up s

Shakespeare knew a few things about fools.  With admiration, and as part of my April Fools series, my first ever sonnet.

poetry month

Tags: , , , , , ,

About memadtwo

For more madness, follow me on Instagram @h_zimel :)

40 responses to “Talk Like Shakespeare Today”

  1. nananoyz says :

    Reblogged this on Praying for Eyebrowz and commented:
    Happy birthday to the bard! Read more at https://methodtwomadness.wordpress.com

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Jodi says :

    What fools indeed! Great sonnet and art!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. BunKaryudo says :

    Impressive! I’ve never written a sonnet in my life. I have managed the occasional limerick.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Michael Richards (certainline) says :

    Wonderful – and what a brilliant jester!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Dave Whatt says :

    Ho ho! Love it!…

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Sharon Mann says :

    Shakespeare would be proud!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. 10000hoursleft says :

    An apparition on my bright screen. Is this a poem before me? Oh, to offend I did not mean. I hope that fool isn’t me.

    That was a fun read and fun trying to respond all Shakespeare like, although I’ve read very little of him and it was in highschool under duress.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Charlie O'Shields (doodlewash) says :

    Amazing!!! I was sooo looking forward to this it was worth the wait!! A perfectly composed tribute to the bard! And that image is just fantastic!! Hehe!! 😃😃😃😍

    Liked by 1 person

  9. weisserwatercolours says :

    ….I’m with Catherine and Charlie–‘wonderful’ and ‘amazing’!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Teresa Robeson says :

    I think you would have made good old Will (or Billy Bob, as my kids like to refer to him…hah) laugh out loud! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Crow says :

    Your first sonnet? It’s amazing.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. anniedrawsthings says :

    Beautiful structure on that sonnet! Happy birthday, Billy Shakes!

    Liked by 1 person

  13. memadtwo says :

    ‘Twould take the very opposite of a fool to write such verse as this! (The jester is pretty awesome also).

    Like

  14. Sunshine Jansen says :

    Well you hit that sonnet out of the park! And your jester is pure genius.

    Liked by 1 person

  15. merrildsmith says :

    Wonderful sonnet! I can’t believe it’s your first try. I haven’t tried it yet.
    (The jester is creepy though.) 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  16. rivrvlogr says :

    Well done. Had I attempted a sonnet, me thinks there would be few smiles, but may a grimace.

    Liked by 1 person

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Moonlit Shadows | method two madness - April 30, 2016
  2. Purple Dreams (for Prince) | method two madness - September 2, 2016

Leave a Reply

