Junk Mail Art: Questions 99 and 88

imagine dragons s

What kind of fool am I?
here be the head of a dragon
Is this just fantasy?
here be the tail of a snake

Is that all there is?
here be the head of a dragon
What do you see?
here be the tail of a snake

Do you believe in magic?
here be the head of a dragon
Is there life on Mars?
here be the tail of a snake

What are you waiting for?
here be the head of a dragon
How soon is now?
here be the tail of a snake

Does anybody really know what time it is?
here be the head of a dragon
How can I be sure?
here be the tail of a snake

Who knows where the time goes?
here be the head of a dragon
What is it good for?
here be the tail of a snake

Is this real life?
here be the head of a dragon
Have you ever seen the rain?
here be the tail of a snake

What kind of fool am I?
here be the head of a dragon
What does it all mean?
here be the tail of a snake

Another piece in the mythology series.  NaPoWriMo had a prompt for a call and response poem a few days ago, and a little research turned up the Chinese saying, “the head of a dragon, the tail of a snake”.  It certainly goes well with the collage, but as to what it means…???  A cryptic response deserves a cryptic call, I say.  Especially since I could combine the saying with “here be dragons”, an indicator on a map for what is unknown.

Call and Response is an old form used in the blues, children’s play songs, and sea chanties, and modern songwriters have employed it many times.  My model here is Simon and Garfunkel’s “Parsley Sage Rosemary and Thyme”.  And if you recognize the questions in the calls, you, like me, have listened to way too much pop music over the last 50 years.

poetry month

Tags: , , , , , ,

About memadtwo

For more madness, follow me on Instagram @h_zimel :)

37 responses to “Junk Mail Art: Questions 99 and 88”

  1. merrildsmith says :

    I love this so much–the medieval “Here be dragons” and the songs. (Although, did you know that old maps did not really have this on them?) And yes, I recognize the songs–some of my favorites! You did a great job with call and response. I love the collage, too.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Jodi says :

    That is a cool coolage 😝. I felt songs in the poem And Yep there is life on Mars. I am living proof. Lol!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. artandmoondreams says :

    Love dragons, love this art collage paired with a wonderful call and response poem…very enjoyable. Thank you for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Michael Richards (certainline) says :

    Probably the only time you’ll find Morrisey and Chicago in the same musical universe! Great poem and image.

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Sharon Mann says :

    There are so many forms of poetry, I’m enjoying your process this month. Thanks Kerfe for getting the brain turned on this morning.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Lynz Real Cooking says :

    This is really unique and cool! Something so different!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Susan Feniak says :

    I knew I recognized some songs in there. Now that I am turned on and tuned in I can say this is great Kerfe! Cool collage.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. weisserwatercolours says :

    ….now this–THIS is just masterful. I love this.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. memadtwo says :

    Great dragon collage and love the poem!

    Like

  10. Charlie O'Shields (doodlewash) says :

    Okay… NEW FAVORITE!! Love this poem so much! Masterfully done my friend. And the image is so striking and compelling. Just an amazing combo.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Claudia McGill says :

    I am so taken with the sinuous shape of the dragon-snake. Very elegant and menacing, somehow…Wow!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Sunshine Jansen says :

    Just to shed some light on that Chinese idiom (龍頭蛇尾 literally “dragon head snake tail”), it means “a strong start, but a weak finish.” Your poem though is a dragon all the way through — brilliant!

    Liked by 1 person

  13. bilderbogenblog says :

    fantastic collage!

    Like

  14. Teresa Robeson says :

    Awesome collage! I vaguely remember my mom using that Chinese expression. I also love your cryptic questions poem!

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Jill Kuhn says :

    Loving your collage, Kerfe! WOWZA! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  16. Laura (Createarteveryday) says :

    You and Sharon should take your shows on the road! You are both amazing talents! Oh, I will have a Chicago song stuck in my head tonight! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

