Moonlit Shadows

moonlit shadows s

“Nature is not only all that is visible to the eye–it also shows the inner images of the soul–the images on the back sides of the eyes.”
–Edvard Munch

winding beneath the
tangles of neural pathways
I follow myself,
moonlit shadows reflecting
mirages deep, heavy, dark

983px-Edvard_Munch_-_Moonlight_(1893).jpg

Jane Dougherty’s challenge this week included the Munch painting above and the words
winding – moonlight – follow – heavily – path

I took a few liberties, but then I always find Munch to be darkly ambiguous.

moonlit shadows close up s

So this is it…I did it…30 poems in 30 days.  Considering I didn’t write 30 poems in the past 2 years, I’m feeling good.  I do have to give a nod to Jane and the WordPress poets she has connected me with for encouragement and support, and also to Charlie at Doodlewash, for inviting everyone to share his month of celebratory days, giving me instant inspiration for every day of the month (I participated a little over half the time).

ms faces s

You can see the entire month’s 30 days of poems and artwork here.  My favorites?  I had lots of fun with the fools, and wrote my first Shakespearean sonnet.  But I learned something with all of them.

poetry month

Now I need a break!

Tags: , , ,

About memadtwo

For more madness, follow me on Instagram @h_zimel

42 responses to “Moonlit Shadows”

  1. Laura (Createarteveryday) says :

    You deserve a break, for sure! What a tremendous challenge, and you rose to it! I just love this one with all of the faces and the cats! Wonderful pairing with the verse and love the pop of brights on the mask. Well done!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Jane Dougherty says :

    If you can write one poem, you can write thirty. I’m glad you persevered. You’re right about Munch, there’s always something in his paintings that catches at the tail of the eye.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Lynz Real Cooking says :

    What a great job! Have enjoyed reading!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Janice says :

    I like the quote — I came across it when considering the challenge ..and I very much like your poetic and artistic expansions!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Teresa Robeson says :

    Hooray! Congrats on completing the challenge! And this is such an awesome eerie collage!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. merrildsmith says :

    I love the Munch quote–and your poem and art. Congratulations on getting through the challenge!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. rivrvlogr says :

    “winding beneath the
    tangles of neural pathways

    I love that opening.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Jodi says :

    Awesome month off art and poetry!

    Like

  9. Crow says :

    Congrats on thirty days! I’ve enjoyed seeing your work and having you visit!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Charlie O'Shields (doodlewash) says :

    This is so awesome… you are my hero taking on all of these challenges! This is an awesome post and great art and words as always. Love it! And I’m thrilled that you joined me in celebrating so many days this month. Your amazing creativity is such a joy to view each day! Thank you for sharing it!! 💕😃

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Sharon Mann says :

    What an incredible undertaking. I’ve learned a lot from the different kinds of poems you’ve written. And, your accompanying collage art pulled everything together. Now you can rest. Well done, Bravo.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. 10000hoursleft says :

    Well done! It has been really great reading and a feast for the eyes. I think I started following around about when NaPoWriMo began, so I assumed poetry was your every day thing anyway- well, I guess it is now! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  13. davekingsbury says :

    Well done, will look at your back catalogue when I’ve a moment. Liked your sonnet, you should try again perhaps with modern language.

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Dave Whatt says :

    Hm… I do like these!…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

