May 2016: Opening Her Arms

grid flower close up 1s

“The peony was as big as this,”
says the little girl
opening her arms.
–Issa

grid flower white s

Issa, one of the four classic haiku masters of Japan, wrote over 20,000 haiku, often illustrated with his own drawings.  His work is known for its simplicity and directness.

grid flower black s

After posting art and poetry every day in April, I will be here irregularly for awhile.  Lots going on this month.  I may not see your posts everyday, either, but I will catch up as time allows.

A note on the grid:  I found some flower graphs I had done for sweaters and thought: “I could make a collage out of this.”  I was not really thinking about how many of those tiny squares there actually were.  The squares were cut from magazine photos I had of flowers.

Tags: , , , , ,

41 responses to “May 2016: Opening Her Arms”

  1. Rebecca says :

    This is just beautiful. 🙂

  2. Laura (Createarteveryday) says :

    This is amazing. And this is why you are a master. Mistress. Whatever! Seriously. These amazing grid collages deserve a broad and enthusiastic audience. Truly stunning! 💜💜💜

  3. Jodi says :

    So gorgeous! This is your unique specialty K! I like how Laura put it 🙂 – the deserve a broad and enthusiastic audience!

  4. Lynz Real Cooking says :

    This is just lovely!

  5. rivrvlogr says :

    I’ve always marveled at the number of petals a peony has. They’re so lush, just as your collage is.

  6. Sharon Mann says :

    A few words can mean so much. When I squint my eyes your collage takes on a whole new dimension. We will see you when we see you, enjoy your time. ☕️🍩 cheers

  7. Michael Richards (certainline) says :

    These are astonishing. Have a good break and try toi squeze in a few more of these! I love seeing them.

  8. weisserwatercolours says :

    …I swore it was a quilt when I first saw the photograph. WOW.

  9. Jet Eliot says :

    Lovely collage and I enjoyed the Issa haiku too~~

  10. memadtwo says :

    I wish I had a quilt of that. Just beautiful. Never get discouraged. N.

    • memadtwo says :

      I so admire quilters…as much work as collaging the squares is, doing an actual quilt of tiny squares like that…that would be wonderful to own!

  11. Charlie O'Shields (doodlewash) says :

    I agree with Nina… I would kill for a quilt of this! Beautiful colors that just sing spring. Your grids always make me smile and bring out the best emotions when looking at them. Not sure what kind of magic you weave into them… but please please keep doing it! Love them! 😍

  12. merrildsmith says :

    Very cool. The collage looks three dimensional.

  13. Teresa Robeson says :

    So pretty! And what a perfect haiku to go with it. Issa was a genius.

    I’m with you…May is gearing up to be a busy month for me so I’m thinking I may not post every day and may be bad about visiting blogs, too…at least for commenting.

  14. Crow says :

    Beautiful. And I love Issa.

  15. artandmoondreams says :

    Brilliant collage, paired with a haiku by Issa is pure bliss. The collage is amazing, at first I thought it might be a quilt…a gorgeous quilt…but using cut out shapes from magazines is amazing. Love your art.

  16. Chic Mona says :

    Oh! In concert with artandmoondreams, I thought it was a beautiful patchwork quilt at first too. Love how my eyes go to the sunny yellow center and then opens up to the rest. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

