Landscape in a Circle

I do a lot of landscapes but this is the first one I’ve done in a circle. I usually make my circles with a bowl but I found a perfect circle (almost, with one odd edge). 

When looking at it the landscape almost looked like lips. It popped out at me in a dimensional way. 

Here’s the circle template I lifted from the medical practice we rent space from. Obagi is a skin treatment; it is like a mini exfoliation. The girls over there told me to try it for smooth skin (they are always telling me to have my neck “done” but that’s not something I’d do, probably.) I see a lot of their patients after plastic surgery and it’s pretty much a train wreck. (The doctor did give me some free Botox a couple of times. That stuff is pretty awesome). 

Tags:

About memadtwo

For more madness, follow me on Instagram @h_zimel

24 responses to “Landscape in a Circle”

  1. 10000hoursleft says :

    I really love this, Nina. We don’t see enough or think enough about the landscape beneath our feet. Most free perks from an office are logo stationary and calendars- you get botox? haha.

    Like

    • memadtwo says :

      Yes, Restalyn too once in a while. I’m going to ask him to do a chemical peel maybe.

      Liked by 1 person

      • circadianreflections says :

        +1 Nina. I’ve had Juviderm (sp) in the puppet lines around my mouth(smile lines), and in the tiny lines around my lips as well as the corners of my mouth. It’s another amazing product! It’s been just over 2 years since my last treatment and I’m only just starting to think it’s time to schedule another appointment to get a few spots refilled. Yes, I’m a vain woman. πŸ™‚

        I’m too afraid to try a chemical peel. I’m fair and have very sensitive skin. I’d be red and burned for months I fear! How sensitive? Make-up sponges burn my skin, and there are many facial products, make-up, and creams etc. that break me out or burn my skin.

        Like

      • 10000hoursleft says :

        Do you trade art works or art supplies? πŸ™‚

        Like

  2. Charlie O'Shields (doodlewash) says :

    Nicely done Nina! This is lovely! Digging the circle… and too funny on the source of your model. Loved your story as well! πŸ˜‰

    Like

  3. circadianreflections says :

    Pretty neat way to paint a landscape. I’m reading a lot of toddler, and children’s books these last few years and this image reminded me straight-away of the children’s storybook Mole Music by David McPhail. It’s a sweet story of how his journey of learning to play the violin alone in his tunnel those above ground are affected by the beautiful music. The images in the book aren’t in circles but convey both above and below ground.

    Your landscape is very calm and peaceful.

    I use Obagi Elastderm Eye cream. It’s wonderful! It helps with dark circles, and puffiness, as well as moisturizing the eye area which helps with the fine lines.

    Botox is amazing! I was having my forehead and the lines between my eyes done with Botox for a few years, but stopped. I’ve been thinking about starting again because those lines are getting to me again. πŸ™‚

    Like

    • memadtwo says :

      It’s a good thing. Having your face or neck cut, not so much.

      Liked by 1 person

      • circadianreflections says :

        That’s scary. My step-Grandmother had plastic surgery in her 80’s. I thought she was beautiful as she was, but she feels better about herself now, and looks great.
        I’m vain, but don’t think I’ll go that route, but I’m not going to say, “I’ll never do it.” πŸ™‚

        Like

    • memadtwo says :

      Yeah I’d hold off on the chemical peel. The Obagi is making my face a bit red (from the RetinA) but the girls tell me it takes a while. It’s about four or five different products (the Obaji). I notice that the plastic surgery patients are a pretty vain lot and they tend to all look the same after facial surgery.

      Liked by 1 person

      • circadianreflections says :

        Holding! πŸ™‚ I’ve noticed that too. My daughter has always wanted a nose job. She got my husband’s side of the families nose. I love it. She looks exotic, unique, and she’s beautiful. I don’t want her to look like everyone else and tell that whenever she brings up “a nose job”.

        I didn’t want to get braces either to fix one overlapping front tooth. I loved her unique smile. She got braces. I love her smile today, but am so thankful I have lots and lots of photos of her pre braces! πŸ™‚

        Like

      • circadianreflections says :

        ARG! I’m the worst typist! Sorry for the left out words. SIGH!

        Like

  4. Susan Feniak says :

    I am enjoying your unique round landscape Nina πŸ™‚

    Like

  5. memadtwo says :

    OK Nina, these colors are just amazing. And the idea of a circular landscape…fabulous! It’s like a cloud of earth. (K)

    Like

  6. Jodi says :

    That is a cool circular landscape !!

    Like

  7. Laura (Createarteveryday) says :

    Where’s the tongue???? Very cool!

    Like

  8. artandmoondreams says :

    The landscape in a circle is lovely painting, and what a great idea visually, it also has the potential to offer layers of story-telling variety in its presentations.

    Like

  9. DW says :

    Well done!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

