Angel’s Lament

angel's lament close up 1s

my wings anchor me deep
below cold riotous hues of light

my wings speak betrayal
tangled in a sea of savage flames

angel's lament close up 2s

my wings weigh unflying
requiems obstructing horizons

my wings hold stolen fire
silhouettes against a darkling sky

angel's lament s

my wings carry crossed stars
grief beyond tears, barren, scorched, profane

794px-Odilon_Redon_-_Tears_(Les_Pleurs)_-_Google_Art_Project

Jane Dougherty’s challenge this week was once again a work of art, Redon’s “Tears”, above, along with the words:  Tears, horizon, fly, hue, stealing

My poem was definitely influenced by the fact that I’m reading Cuban poet Dulce Maria Loynaz’s selected poems in “A Woman in Her Garden“.  She often uses a repeated phrase to structure her words.  I could only find a few of her poems online, but her work is definitely worth seeking out.

Tags: , , , , ,

About memadtwo

For more madness, follow me on Instagram @h_zimel

24 responses to “Angel’s Lament”

  1. merrildsmith says :

    Such beauty and anguish in the poems and art.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Jane Dougherty says :

    What Merril said. If I didn’t already find that picture incredibly sad, your words would show me how to see it.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Jodi says :

    Wow. So thought provoking and brilliant !

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Laura (Createarteveryday) says :

    Once again, I immediately think of Jo’s work. And the state of the world today, particularly with the DT situation and what an anguish that is all by itself. What a moving post, verse and artwork. Tremendous, Kerfe.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. purehaiku says :

    I like your stark words – they speak deep into my soul

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Charlie O'Shields (doodlewash) says :

    Wonderful post, Kerfe! Powerful words and imagery. I really loved seeing the crops at first and then the reveal of the full piece.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Lynz Real Cooking says :

    Love the art and words

    Liked by 1 person

  8. kestrelart says :

    Stunning image and poignant poem.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Susan Feniak says :

    Yes you have struck a chord with this one Kerfe.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Sharon Mann says :

    Brilliant Kerfe and I love your imagery.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. davekingsbury says :

    A dance of words and pictures, elegant!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

