Mother’s Day Bird

parakeet 2as

My mother had several parakeets when I was growing up.  I don’t remember Jackie too well, but Spencer was around until I was in junior high school.  We children called him The Drib, because the TV ad on the Lawrence Welk Show for the laxative Serutan “backwards spells natures”, which we found both ridiculous and hilarious, caused a flurry of saying words backwards in our house.  I know…kids.  My mother was not particularly amused.

The parakeet above actually belonged to my older brother and sister-in-law.  They sent a photo of this perky fellow, and I made the felt applique with embroidery as a Christmas gift for them one year.  It was a rather intense project, as I recall, so I have not done anything similar since.

parakeet 1as

I miss the trips to Woolworth’s with my own children to look at the parakeets, hamsters, and fish.  I miss Woolworth’s.

And I miss my Mom.  Happy Mother’s Day to all!

Tags: , , , ,

About memadtwo

For more madness, follow me on Instagram @h_zimel

35 responses to “Mother’s Day Bird”

  1. Laura (Createarteveryday) says :

    Wow, this is an amazing piece of artwork right here! Tremendous job! It looks like it must have taken days and days to make this! Happy Mother’s Day Kerfe and thanks again to you and Nina for hosting for the past several months. Woolworth’s was great. And McCrory’s too! 💜

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Eileen McKenna {my creative resolution} says :

    It is spectacular! And I love the colors. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Rebecca says :

    Beautifully done! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Sunshine Jansen says :

    How wonderful to hear from someone else with a Woolworth’s mother-daughter bonding experience. My mom and I went there almost every weekend when I was a kid; miss the parakeets and the lunch counter! I walk by the old building often now (it was replaced by a fancy high rise apartment in our disgustingly gentrified downtown) and every time I see the old Woolworth’s as a kind of ghostly overlay — birds and all.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Charlie O'Shields (doodlewash) says :

    I’m so impressed by this…what a fantastic piece…Love it!! And love that our paths have crossed on this journey my friend. Hope you are enjoying a wonderful Mother’s Day! 💕

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Carol says :

    This is just stunning! So intricately detailed. Happy Mother’s Day to you!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. outsideauthority says :

    This is gorgeous

    Liked by 1 person

  8. circadianreflections says :

    It’s beautiful, and so well done!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Nicola says :

    This is amazing! It looks like a lot of work too

    Liked by 1 person

  10. JoAnn Chateau says :

    That parakeet is so clear and captivating – beautiful!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. memadtwo says :

    It does look like a lot of work…but worth it. Beautiful. N.

    Like

  12. Jodi says :

    Absolutely stunning. I miss woolworths too an my grandma. But we have great memories. Right? Hugs from punta Cana 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Cathe says :

    Your parakeet is stunning and inspiring. Mothers are the best, lovely memories.

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Lynz Real Cooking says :

    Such beautiful colors! Love it

    Like

  15. Myriam (Myr's Bytes) says :

    So beautiful :-)! And the textile tactility is so, so cool! How long did it take you? And how do I learn how to do that?

    Liked by 1 person

    • memadtwo says :

      It took a long time as I recall, probably weeks. I was just kind of winging it with the embroidery and it was so intense, as I said, I haven’t attempted anything like it since. Although with a few years distance, it’s tempting to try…

      Liked by 1 person

  16. atkokosplace says :

    Beautifully done! I love all the detail. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Draw a Bird Day May: Bird Art Roundup! | Create art everyday - May 15, 2016

Leave a Reply

