Into the Mirror (Remembering Marisol)

remembering marisol s

Breathing words into your mouth
I listen but
life keeps interrupting me
ocular
echoes of a light
that repeats
drifting between talk and time
standing next to myself
holding nothing

marisol-escobar-women-sitting-on-a-mirror s

I went to see Marisol’s exhibit at El Museo del Barrio last year.  No photos were allowed, so I didn’t get a chance to document it myself for future reference, but a lot of both her sculpture and drawings are available online.  These are large assemblages–human size and bigger–so the impact is also bigger when confronted by the actual piece.  My collage was inspired by “Women Sitting on a Mirror” above.

remembering marisol hands s

Marisol Escobar died on April 30.  She had a multicultural upbringing; her parents were Venezuelan, but she was born in Paris, and lived at various times in her life in Europe, South and Central America, and the United States.  The various obituaries and articles cite many influences on the development of her art; de Kooning was a friend and lover, and she appeared in Warhol films.

marsiol sculpture 1s

So it was with interest that I read her interview in the Smithsonian Oral History archives.  It seemed the interviewer was attempting to put words in her mouth:  that’s where my poem began.  Her answers and statements are much less direct about the origins of her ideas:  “To my mind I found this piece of wood in the street….and then I visualized it this way.”  That’s pretty much my experience with making art.

remembering marisol center s

I was going to use excerpts from her answers in the poem, but words, too, have their own ways with me.  In the end the only one left is not even direct:  she spoke about wanting a sculpture to look like he was standing next to himself, and I kept that intriguing idea intact.

marisol sculpture 2s

The poem is also a response to the secret keeper’s words for the week:
Words: | DRIFT | BREATHE | LIGHT | HOLD | LIFE |

remembering marisol left side s

Tags: , , , ,

About memadtwo

For more madness, follow me on Instagram @h_zimel

27 responses to “Into the Mirror (Remembering Marisol)”

  1. Moon in Capricorn says :

    Fascinating! Thank you for sharing your words and the story behind them.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Laura (Createarteveryday) says :

    Your verse is haunting. Wow, talk about lines that stay with you. Really powerful stuff, all on their own. Then the collages! They’re tremendously intricate and should be in their own exhibit! Thanks also for the background and information. Particularly putting words into someone’s mouth…….I think that happens quite often, and your lines and images call that up quite vividly. Thank you.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Sharon Mann says :

    Thanks for you post today Kerfe. I’ll do a little more research in Marisol. I can feel the stifled speech in your poem.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Jodi says :

    Powerful insightful as always k

    Liked by 1 person

  5. kirkistan says :

    Wow what an interesting post. I’m interested to hear about your relationship with words, Kerfe.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Lynz Real Cooking says :

    This is fascinating!

    Like

  7. memadtwo says :

    Excellent work–you just keep getting better. You know, I had the chance to buy a signed Marisol print when I worked at the Whitney. Too bad I was broke–it wasn’t even that expensive. Oh well. By the way, we’re up to over 600 followers–congratulations to us! N.

    Like

  8. Charlie O'Shields (doodlewash) says :

    Sooo interesting and intriguing…love seeing the inspiration….this made for fabulous pieces (art and words). Nice!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Jill Kuhn says :

    Interesting collages! So much to see…

    Liked by 1 person

  10. merrildsmith says :

    I read that she had died, and I knew her name, but not much more. Wonderful collage and poem. I love, ” I listen but
    life keeps interrupting me” and “drifting between talk and time.”

    Liked by 1 person

  11. davekingsbury says :

    Love all these and the poem too … good to be a snapper-up of unconsidered trifles!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Elusive Trope says :

    To my mind I found this piece of wood in the street….and then I visualized it this way.” That’s pretty much my experience with making art.

    Pondering this I felt that in many cases this is the way I experience the words on put down during, say, the initial phase of brainstorming the poem. A phrase, a word, drops down onto the page (or up on the screen) and I stare at it. I visualize it this or that way, and then some way resonates, most of the time I am not sure why, but it seems right, seems it “has to be” in the poem. Only latter do I began to glean a sense of what it means to me (for the reader(s) I cannot say).

    This is even more true with prompt words. Here, the other says, offering a “piece of wood” composed of this and that word…what do you visualize with these words.

    Liked by 1 person

    • memadtwo says :

      That’s a good analogy. I think our subconscious (some might call it intuition) often knows best how to guide us. In the end we have to take and shape the suggestion, but it points the way, if we are open to it and listening.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Elusive Trope says :

        Our human egos sometimes convinces us it seems to believe that the artist creates something from nothing, when it is more akin to molding one thing into another thing, whether that thing is an object of this world or an experience. We have to believe there is something there if we are to listen.

        Liked by 1 person

      • memadtwo says :

        Yes we do.

        Like

Leave a Reply

