Unfolding

unfolding collage s

Boundaries fall away, opposites
navigating geography
leading to uncrossed bridges
over misleading paths.
You invoke spirits,
creatures that fly,
hovering,
over
signs.

Rise,
startled,
in secret
alignment of
illusion and air:
spell unfolding like wings
cloned from accumulations
of disorder and metaphor.
The map returned in another form.

unfolding collage close up 2s

Rattle Poetry has an Ekphrastic Challenge every month, and this was my response to March’s art.  It wasn’t chosen for publication, so I did my own collage response as well.  The original artwork is wonderful; you can see it with the poem chosen by the artist here.

unfolding collage close up 1s

There’s a new piece of art posted at the beginning of each month if you want to take up the challenge too!

I’m into the most hectic part of May…will catch up with your blogs as I have time.

Tags: , , , , , ,

About memadtwo

For more madness, follow me on Instagram @h_zimel

18 responses to “Unfolding”

  1. memadtwo says :

    Well, it should have been chosen. It’s very good–the collage is too.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. alisonsye says :

    Great collage

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Sharon Mann says :

    Amazing collage and poem Kerfe, I must look at several times to take it all in. I agree with Nina.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Charlie O'Shields (doodlewash) says :

    Oh my… this so awesome! Love this collage and the words that go with it! It’s riveting… I can’t think of another word, but it’s that!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. artandmoondreams says :

    Love your collage, it has a strength and heart to it complementing your poem beautifully. Thank you for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. davekingsbury says :

    The poem form reminds me of George Herbert and you have added an evolutionary touch … great pic + poem!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Laura (Createarteveryday) says :

    Kerfe, you do such fine work. I agree with Sharon, I can see myself in a museum just staring and staring, people wanting to elbow their way in, but I’m too lost in the image to notice them! Oh, the soft sleepy owl against the jagged building edges at night just puts the icing on the cake. Your verse stands on its own as a piece of artwork, but so beautifully they are joined together. Thanks for sharing your work with us. It’s chosen here, it wins! No doubt about it.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. shelterlifephotography says :

    The collage is wonderful!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

