Gears and Roses

I’ve been working on this one for a few days and woke up early today and sat down with it. I don’t know what went wrong but I’d consider this a fail. (It looks better in the picture). I’m posting it anyway because there are some good sections but as a whole I don’t think it works. I thought those teeth down the middle of the circle would be cool. I left them white, then painted them a couple of different colors. Don’t really know why but I don’t like this too much, any feedback welcome. 

About memadtwo

For more madness, follow me on Instagram @h_zimel

23 responses to “Gears and Roses”

  1. Laura (Createarteveryday) says :

    I think it’s cool, but maybe it needs a unifying glaze of some kind? Something to pull it together? I’m really bad at composition, unfortunately. I like it though, love the teeth! It’s striking!

    Like

  2. Jodi says :

    Fun to see the blue roses again! Beautiful colors and shapes and a lot to look it! πŸ™‚

    Like

  3. Margaret Parker Brown says :

    I think that it is very striking….for me though the fringe like shape around the circle seems to compete or weaken the mandala (or circle) maybe it just my eyes! I like Laura’s suggestion of a unifying glaze.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. memadtwo says :

    You could also think about cutting and rearranging. The elements are good, but Laura is right, they need some unifying feature to pull them together. (K)

    Liked by 1 person

  5. memadtwo says :

    Yes, was thinking about cutting it up. Thanks K.

    Like

  6. Lynz Real Cooking says :

    this is fun to look at and full of so many things!

    Like

  7. outsideauthority says :

    I like the duller colours

    Like

  8. Susan Feniak says :

    It is very striking. Perhaps unifying is all it needs if it needs anything at all. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  9. memadtwo says :

    Thank you Susan. I think I know what I’m going to do with it.

    Like

  10. Sharon Mann says :

    You might try tearing it apart and arranging the pieces. Or, Make a black and white photocopy, that can help with seeing the contrast and where to make changes. Good luck, I like what you doing here.

    Like

  11. Jill Kuhn says :

    I really like it! To me it reminds me of a drawing of a landscape like what an architect might draw. I find it quite interesting to look at but you need to like it too. Maybe set it aside for a couple of days to see what it tells you. πŸ™‚

    Like

  12. Belinda Broughton says :

    I like it. I like the colour and the composition. But, I do understand how it feels when a picture is somehow not ‘right’ .

    Like

Leave a Reply

