Flowers

md flowers comp

I first drew an impressionistic representation, and then I abstracted it.  Neocolor dipped in water.  Which version do you like?

Tags: , ,

About memadtwo

For more madness, follow me on Instagram @h_zimel :)

44 responses to “Flowers”

  1. Moon in Capricorn says :

    I like them both. Overall I prefer the first one because of the “white space”. I’ve been reading about Neocolors. That’s going to be my next little art supply splurge. I want to play with bright colors, too!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Laura (Createarteveryday) says :

    Wow, I could almost copy and paste what Judith just said. You’re making me wanna Neo again! I love both of them and I think the only reason I prefer the realistic one is the white space. Gorgeous colors! Those Neos are little sticks of pure magic. It’s been too long since I played with them! They are what started me on abstracts last summer!! Really gorgeous pieces here, both.

    Liked by 1 person

    • memadtwo says :

      Thanks Laura. I had never considered the effect of the white, so you and Judith have already made me see both drawings differently. And yes! to the Neocolors…so much fun.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Jodi says :

    #1 for a painting on the wall. #2 for a textile print. LOOOVVEE!!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Catherine Johnson says :

    Great idea! I love the abstract one.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. merrildsmith says :

    Just looking at the photos, I think I prefer the one on the left. As Jodi says, I like that one more as a painting, but the one on the right would be lovely as a fabric–dreamy!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. 10000hoursleft says :

    I love the abstract one. Like looking at the garden through a rain streaked window or bleary eyes😊. The impressionist one is lovely too.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Michael Richards (certainline) says :

    I vote for the abstracted one. I love flower paintings that don’t try to reproduce what is there but do something with the shapes and colours, like Lisa Breslow does for example: http://www.lisabreslow.com/FlowersInAGlass1.php Your abstracted ones are truly lovely!

    Liked by 2 people

  8. Sharon Mann says :

    I like them both, but I’m leaning over to the abstract. Everyones comments seem to agree. Beautiful creativity Kerfe.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Margaret Parker Brown says :

    Both but then I also like the white negative space on the first one. Love the impressionistic look 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  10. kirkistan says :

    These are great. I love the one on the left. Very nice, Kerfe.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Charlie O'Shields (doodlewash) says :

    Both are beautiful! I think everyone before me has already given the best comments…hehe… I’m with Jodi on first one for a wall and second for a textile!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Myriam (Myr's Bytes) says :

    I find them both beautiful. The one on the right is a bit more captivating. “Blurrier” flower paintings tend to make me feel more nostalgic. They pull at my emotions and memories a bit more.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. tedgiffin says :

    The second is really Fauve. The “wild beasts of color”!

    Liked by 1 person

  14. davisbrotherlylove says :

    I like them as a series.

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Cathe says :

    They are both beautiful but my personal preference is the abstract one. They are both so lovely, bursting with color!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

