My Dad in a Top Hat

I found an old photo of my dad over the weekend. Dad was a jovial fellow who loved hats: top hats, safari hats, bowlers, you name it. I attempted a drawing today at work. 

I caught something of him in this drawing but couldn’t get the eyes or expression right. Here’s the photograph I drew from. What do you think?

Tags: ,

About memadtwo

For more madness, follow me on Instagram @h_zimel

32 responses to “My Dad in a Top Hat”

  1. Charlie O'Shields (doodlewash) says :

    What a cool guy! That expression says so much and you captured the fun smirk in the eyes and mouth.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Jodi says :

    Awesome drawing and even more awesome-looking guy! 🙂 ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Lynz Real Cooking says :

    What a unique photo and great drawing!

    Like

  4. Susan Feniak says :

    I bet your Dad was an amazing man. His face says so much. Cool! 🙂

    Like

  5. REcreate-RebeccaEvansCreate says :

    Great photo, in fact one of the best photos I have seen this year. What a man, and dad. Fantastic sketch, it made me realise how much I avoid painting people.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. memadtwo says :

    What a dapper dad! And the drawing captures the personality! K.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Sand Salt Moon says :

    He reminds me of FDR for some reason. Love this character sketch! Dad looks like a nice fellow!

    Like

  8. artandmoondreams says :

    Great photo! I think your sketch captured the ‘deliberate fun’ smile and zest that shows in the photograph, brilliant.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. kirkistan says :

    Great drawing and what a fun image, Nina.

    Like

  10. colorpencil2014 says :

    What a fantatsic photo, some photos tell so much!! I love that cheeky grin and the top hat is bonus. You did beautiful work in capturing that.

    Like

  11. merrildsmith says :

    Your dad looks like he was a dapper and fun man! The drawing seems like it could be capturing a second before the photo–his eyes catch something off to the side, and then he silently chuckles about it in the photo. (That’s my story anyway.) 🙂

    Like

  12. Carol King says :

    Dad looks like a lot of fun. I think you definitely captured him in your drawing.

    Like

  13. davekingsbury says :

    Good drawing, shape of face and eyes are right, though the mouth in the photo doesn’t turn up – in fact, the giggle comes across in the tension between the lips – maybe hard to draw?

    Like

  14. Laura (Createarteveryday) says :

    I think you captured his spirit in that marvelous expression, Nina, and that’s the most important thing. He seems like an amazing guy, and the apple didn’t fall far from the tree. Thanks for sharing your dad with us. ❤

    Like

  15. 10000hoursleft says :

    I can’t see the drawing, just the photo. Photo says ‘jovial’ 😊. Pulls off the top hat too!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

