(More) Miriam Schapiro

beauty of summer s

beauty of summer close up s

Doesn’t Schapiro’s “Beauty of Summer”, above, look like one of Nina’s rose pictures?  Unfortunately, Nina wasn’t able to get into the city to see the show at the National Academy Museum that closed in May, but I took some photos to share when I visited.

black heart close up s

black heart s

A few years ago, Nina and I went to a show of her works at the Flomenhaft Gallery in Chelsea.  Reproductions can’t duplicate the intricacy of her painted collages.

grandma bolero s

grandma bolero close up s

This show was much more extensive and included work from beginning to end.

the stronger vessel s

One delight and inspiration after another!

silver windows s

I was excited to see a few of her window works, including the one that directly inspired a monthly grid to illustrate and e.e. cummings poem last year.

shrine for two paint tubes s

The shrines really appeal to me too.

my history s

It’s difficult to take in all the detail in Schapiro’s “My History” from a photo.  This work in particular gives me a lot of ideas for both writing and art.

my history explanation s

I have referenced this wonderful artist, who died just about a year ago, often.  You can see other posts about Miriam Schapiro here here and here.

Tags: ,

About memadtwo

For more madness, follow me on Instagram @h_zimel

23 responses to “(More) Miriam Schapiro”

  1. merrildsmith says :

    Exquisite designs and work. I love the fan.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Jodi says :

    very interesting and beautiful and does remind me of Nina’s blue roses. Thanks for sharing Kerfe!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Michael Richards (certainline) says :

    Remarkable work. I hadn’t heard of her before but I’ll certainly look into her work more deeply. Thank you so much for sharing these inspiring images, Kerfe.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Laura (Createarteveryday) says :

    Wow, what a broad scope of work! Thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. memadtwo says :

    I had forgotten how great her work is. Very inspiring post. I’m sorry I didn’t get to see her show. N.

    Like

  6. Susan Feniak says :

    Oh yes these do remind me of Nina’s work. Beautifully done and inspiring. Thanks for sharing Kerfe.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. artandmoondreams says :

    At first I thought these were Nina’s…lol, then I read the print. Wonderful art, beautiful and inspiring. Though there is a small voice in my head that wonders what the Indonesian batik looked like before it was cut and incorporated into a larger work…sigh. Thank you for sharing these gorgeous images, they spark the imagination.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Charlie O'Shields (doodlewash) says :

    Wow…what a fabulous tour of intriguing work! Thanks for introducing her, Kerfe!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Sharon Mann says :

    Thanks for the post of M Schapiro’s exquisite works. Now I’ll do more investigating.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Lynz Real Cooking says :

    they do look alike, lovely!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

