Mockingbird (Draw-a-Bird Day)

mocingbird flying s

Reflected under moon and sun
the dazzled flashing white of wing
listen begin respond repeat

Kaleidoscope of gaudy song
painting air chimerical rhyme
listen begin respond repeat

A feathered choir of rhapsody
the notes repatterned endlessly
listen begin respond repeat

mockingbird drawing s

Mockingbirds were everywhere at the beach.  Flashes of white wings flying and constant serenades.  Evidently nesting season produces even more singing than usual, both night and day (mockingbirds are one of the few species that also sings while flying and at night).  Excellent mimics, they have been known to incorporate up to 200 different bird songs in their repertoire.

mockingbird open wings s

They also like to stand and open their wings, although the meaning of this behavior has not been determined.

Mockingbird feathers may not be the most colorful, but the sounds they produce certainly are.  According to Native American legend, they were the creatures that taught people to speak.  So now you know who to blame!

Tags: , , , , , ,

About memadtwo

For more madness, follow me on Instagram @h_zimel

64 responses to “Mockingbird (Draw-a-Bird Day)”

  1. Jodi says :

    Oh kerfe! These are stunnnning! Absolutely beautiful!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. merrildsmith says :

    I love everything about this post–beautiful poem (I especially love the last stanza), drawings, and legends, too! This seems to be a good year for mockingbirds, and they do sing here morning and evening. I think a nest I discovered on our butterfly bush might be a mockingbird nest.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Judith says :

    So beautiful! And what an interesting post. I thoroughly enjoyed it.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. M.R. Emberson says :

    Beautiful sketch, paintings, and poem of our “American Nightingale.” 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  5. REcreate-RebeccaEvansCreate says :

    Lovely examples of the mocking bird

    Like

  6. Laura (Createarteveryday) says :

    Majestic birds! They are little chatterboxes lol. Terrific artwork and verse, Kerfe. A symphony of color and letters!

    Like

  7. Sharon Mann says :

    I have mockingbirds living in my backyard and they rule. They hardly let me come out without dive bombing and squawking at me. Your painting and poem today is superb, Kerfe, thank you for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Sand Salt Moon says :

    I wonder if we have these birds in FL? Well, they are marvelous – stupendous! xo Love your paintings xo, Kerfe!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Carol says :

    Hi Kerfe: We were at Topsail Beach in NC last week and enjoyed watching the mocking birds show off their wings. Then as they flew off their wings were even more striking. Beautiful likenesses! Which beach did you visit?

    Liked by 1 person

  10. memadtwo says :

    We have a lot of these birds–many nesting in my “Fat Albert” Christmas tree planted on my lawn in around 1992. They are real characters, imitating sounds and pretty fearless. I really love this work of yours today! Catches that flash of white feathers beautifully. N.

    Like

  11. Susan Feniak says :

    As always, beautifully presented Kerfe.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Jennifer G. Knoblock says :

    I love the song of your poem, the refrain, “the notes repatterned endlessly”

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Teresa Robeson says :

    What beautiful pieces of art! What are the media you used? I love their mimicry. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Jill Kuhn says :

    Your poem really spoke to me today, Kerfe. You are so creative with words and a paintbrush – your Mockingbirds sing!

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Catherine Johnson says :

    Beautiful! I love seeing bird art with the wings out.

    Liked by 1 person

  16. phoartetry says :

    A fabulous post in art and verse.

    Connie

    Liked by 1 person

  17. outsideauthority says :

    Great pictures!

    Like

  18. tedgiffin says :

    I want to keep a look-out for these birds. I think that they could be my friends.

    Liked by 1 person

  19. Charlie O'Shields (doodlewash) says :

    A fabulous collection of mockingbirds!! These are wonderful! Love the last one in particular. And yeah…next time someone says something they shouldn’t, I’ll just blame it on this bird! Hehe

    Liked by 1 person

  20. Myriam (Myr's Bytes) says :

    Beautiful paintings, Kerfe. The flashes of white are certainly attention grabbing and joyful. I saw Mockingbirds in Arizona but didn’t hear them singing at night or opening their wings while standing. Lucky you! Glad I got to read your story though. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  21. circadianreflections says :

    All are beautiful but I think I like the drawing best. We have a resident Mockingbird that likes to sing his afternoon song on top of the telephone which sits in one corner of our backyard. Sometimes he/she mimics a car alarm.

    I think we’ve got a fledgling of his/hers too. I took a few images of it, and they’re hanging out together. The tail was quite short the first day I saw the little one, but now it’s long and it’s grown up!

    The poem is lovely!

    Liked by 1 person

  22. kestrelart says :

    Great drawings.

    Like

  23. teproleum says :

    Very nice! I love birds, too, but mockingbirds aren’t very common here in the Philippines. All we have are doves (lots of it!), and mayas (a type of sparrow, I believe).

    Great poem, too. You just inspired me to draw/paint birds again. Thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

  24. dunelight says :

    These are quite lovely, are these also called ‘catbirds’? I’ve had them follow me in my gardens.

    I am sorry to be so late in returning your visit. It is high sailing season and I am always behind on blogs.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

