Water Sky Sea

sea sketch 1s

azure purple white moving lines
rhythmic rolling surf blurring time
slowly curls rise melancholy
echo clouds in water sky sea

hover shadows keep sounding gulls
transparent foam white indigo
layered closely blending grey green
echo clouds in water sky sea

moving towards retreating under
breaking colors shattered tendered
patterns cover pause sigh reveal
echo clouds in water sky sea

dreams becoming tangled with light
days saturating into night
voices rise now surrounding me
echo clouds in water sky sea

gold aureola prideful moon
pulls silence into thundered dune
footprints wait where I used to be
echo clouds in water sky sea

sea sketch 2s

I took my pen and colored pencils down to the beach, and once again attempted to draw the waves.  But mostly I sat, hypnotized in reverie.

The poem uses the secret keeper’s words for the week
 | PRIDE | KEEP | CLOSE | SLOW | TENDER |
and, yet again, repetition.  I think I’m still caught in the rhythm of the ocean.  And there will be more because Jane has a sea and sky prompt this week too.

Tags: , , , , ,

About memadtwo

For more madness, follow me on Instagram @h_zimel

28 responses to “Water Sky Sea”

  1. outsideauthority says :

    I like these, interesting lines. Beach sketches can easily become too flat with all that horizon

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Laura (Createarteveryday) says :

    You’re making me yearn again but it’s worth it because this stuff is so darned beautiful. You make these verses look so easy. Love the combination of pen with the soft colors, too. I feel like the pen is showing the harder side, the wind, the pebbles, hot sand and the cool soft colors are giving us the hypnotic calmness of the beach. Really powerful work. Thank you.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Jodi says :

    K – at first I laughed when I saw the scribbles. Then I looked deeper… then I read your words…. and I must say….. this might be one of my FAVORITES yet! Those scribbles are thoughts and feelings, and those colors too! Then your words! Wow! Beautiful Kerfe!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. circadianreflections says :

    Ditto what Jodi said! I love the poem, and your waves, and beach.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Charlie O'Shields (doodlewash) says :

    I found your words lovely and hypnotic and then read that’s exactly how you felt! It came through! Love this… awesome “scribbles”… the line quality is fabulous. Nice work!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Sharon Mann says :

    Your soothing words and lovely drawing has me transported the beach with my feet in the water. Thank you Kerfe.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. rivrvlogr says :

    I hear a chant, a conjuring.
    Love the sketches.

    Liked by 1 person

    • memadtwo says :

      Thanks Ken. I really worked on the rhythm for this, and it’s rewarding that you hear chanting. I started trying to draw the ocean last year, and I think I’m making progress…

      Liked by 1 person

  8. annerose says :

    This is wonderful!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. merrildsmith says :

    I like the ink–sort of frenetic–over the calming pastels.

    The poem is beautiful. I also think it’s like a sort of chant, or perhaps an incantation. I like “breaking colors shattered tendered/
    patterns cover pause sigh reveal”
    And even more, “dreams becoming tangled with light.”

    Liked by 1 person

  10. teproleum says :

    This is how it’s done! I love it! I do this a lot, too. I just sit and let myself be drowned by the sights and sounds of my surroundings, my hands doing squiggles on my sketchbook while I recite words in my head. (I had to stop doing this in crowded areas, though. I hate it when people start staring lol!)

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Nicola says :

    I really like these. I like the movement and I can feel the sea breeze just by looking at them!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

