Terrapin/Jersey Shore

My pal Claudia Placentra posted a nine minute video of a mama terrapin making her way back to the bay after laying her eggs. Claudia wanted to make sure she made it back okay and her video has a cute commentary “you can make it little girl” and other facts about Terrapins. I wasn’t able to share her live video but here are some stills of the turtle making her way back. Claudia is going to send me something later and I’ll try to post. (Kerfe is well aware of my technological shortcomings, yes K., I will make it over to the Genius Bar at Apple soon). Guess it’s turtle week over at MTM. 

Turtles are an endangered species “down the shore” as we Jerseyans say. They get run over by cars and their eggs get eaten by seagulls. There are lots of signs for turtle crossings and other warnings about not touching or harming these wonderful creatures. The last photo is of the terrapin making it back to the bay. 

18 responses to “Terrapin/Jersey Shore”

  1. New England Nomad says :

    I’m glad your friend made sure the terrapin made it back safely. ( :

  2. Jodi says :

    Awh! Lovin’ turtle week at M2M 🙂

  3. Sharon Mann says :

    This is very hopeful Nina! Thank you.

  4. Teresa Robeson says :

    Squeeeee! I love turtles! You know, I’ve never been able to figure out how to post videos on WordPress. Could you (or Kerfe) share the process for doing so once you find out? Thanks!

    • memadtwo says :

      The only video I posted was the one of me singing Halley’s Comet. I just downloaded the video from my phone to WordPress. Being practically illiterate I cannot explain how I did it in any other way…sorry.

      • Teresa Robeson says :

        LOL! Thanks for trying. 🙂 The “Add media” tab on the page where you write your new post doesn’t allow for videos that I could see. I guess I need to investigate more.

  5. memadtwo says :

    Thanks Nina, this gives a lift to my morning! (K)

    • memadtwo says :

      Wish I could have posted the video from Snapchat. The turtle was so cute and determined and my friend’s narrative was really good. Have a great weekend!

  6. Sand Salt Moon says :

    MTM is rocking the turtle love! Go, turtle, go ~ you can do it!

  7. Laura (Createarteveryday) says :

    So sweet, love that the turtle made it! Makes me really glad I’m not a turtle when there are roads to cross lol!

  8. artandmoondreams says :

    What a lovely friend you have. We certainly need more earth guardians out there and it is always encouraging to see success stories. Cheerful hugs to you, your friend, and guardians everywhere.

  9. myworldnyourworld says :

    Turtles are literally my favorite. This is soooo cute.

Leave a Reply

