Northward

printed geese 2s

home
northward
winter wanes
the year quickens
clouds sparkle the sea
awakening stories
following imprinted light
profound murmurings of feathers
caravan reaching for horizons

questing spirits shifted beyond form
aerial synchronicity
opening splintered paths
gathered into song
returned to the earth
wayfarers all
nourished by
water
wind

printed geese 1s

Claudia McGill has been doing some monoprints, which reminded me I wanted to try some myself…it’s been a long time.  You may remember my crow series, which actually I never finished; there are still some printed pieces I haven’t collaged or stitched on yet.

For the snow geese I had the idea to print out some of my photos from the beach and make images on top of them.  These are the two I liked best…I wasn’t that happy with the results.  Although I like the idea.  What happened wasn’t what I had in mind, but if I had less in mind to start, it could go somewhere interesting.

snow geese

Above is the inspiration image, from Jane Dougherty’s poetry challenge this week, which also included the words:  Aerial, profound, murmur, splintering, spark

Snow goose is the animal totem for the Earth Renewal Moon of the winter solstice on the Native American Medicine wheel.  Nina may be interested in the fact that the birch tree is also associated with the Earth Renewal Moon, as well as the Turtle Clan.

These beautiful birds appear in stories and myths from many cultures.

 

Tags: , , , ,

34 responses to “Northward”

  1. Judith says :

    So many beautiful thoughts and ideas joined together. These are enchanting, although I have to confess I have no idea what a “moonprint” is or how it’s made. I love the colors in these.

    • memadtwo says :

      Thanks Judith.
      A monoprint is where you paint on a surface (I use plexiglass) and then make a print by placing paper over it and pressing down. I think there’s a more technically correct way to do it, but that’s what I use, because that’s what I have. I’m sure there’s special printing ink as well, but I use gouache or acrylic paint.

  2. Jane Dougherty says :

    Your collage makes me think of geese flying through an ice storm. The year does ‘quicken’ in both senses. And I like the caravan image too.

    • memadtwo says :

      Thanks Jane. I had a hard time with this one. I don’t know why, as the image is so beautiful, and it gave me lots of ideas. Maybe too many.

      • Jane Dougherty says :

        Maybe because the picture is so clear and pure, there is no shading of meaning. The first, obvious one that springs to mind is the only one you get.

  3. lorigreer says :

    Beautiful work…love the colors!

  4. Jodi says :

    I LOVE how they turned out! Caught my eye right away! I like how you took the paint off the actual photo into the white and black mat! Beautiful words and beautiful art K!

  5. Laura (Createarteveryday) says :

    These are absolutely wonderful! Just a suggestion in brushstrokes and BAM we have birds, a whole flock, and the imagination fills them in quite nicely. Fantastic, Kerfe! I truly hope that I see a show of yours before I croak. You deserve accolades. Big ones. ❤

  6. Charlie O'Shields (doodlewash) says :

    This is such a cool idea! I love the juxtaposition of abstract and reality. Really beautiful!

  7. artandmoondreams says :

    Wonderful. First impression on the image was a flight of birds…after reading your verse and looking at the following image, there is a lovely synchronicity between them. The image painted by your phrase “caravan reaching for horizons”… beautiful. Thank you for sharing these.

  8. merrildsmith says :

    Beautiful art and poetry. I love the “iciness” of the print–it looks like the birds are wet with ice. I liked these lines: “clouds sparkle the sea
    awakening stories
    following imprinted light”

    Clouds sparkle the sea is such a lovely phrase/image.

  9. Sunshine Jansen says :

    An etheree was the perfect choice for this, Kerfe — I know you’re not satisfied with the prints (I find them beautiful and evocative) but as an ensemble it come together really nicely. We don’t see snow geese where I live, so this is as close as I get!

    • memadtwo says :

      Thanks Sunshine. The prints are growing on me. And I loved reading about the way different cultures have honored these beautiful animals.

  10. Claudia McGill says :

    OH, I love the print work and the words, too. I love the feeling of freedom. I hope for more prints!

  11. teproleum says :

    The poem and the prints are very nice! I’ve never tried monoprint before but I’ll try doing one someday. It looks like fun!

Leave a Reply

