Of Cats and Time

tabby 32s

your shadow   not you
half glimpsed movements refracted
sideways through corners
of the eye that seem to be
always pregnant with the past

When I moved into my current residence, I found that my neighbor’s four cats considered the deck outside my kitchen to be an extension of their yard.  She had taken all of them in as strays, years ago.

The last of them died this weekend.

Their presence remains.

tabby final comp

My final drawings of Tabby from last week.

Tags: , , ,

About memadtwo

For more madness, follow me on Instagram @h_zimel :)

43 responses to “Of Cats and Time”

  1. kim881 says :

    I can still feel the presence and see shadows of my beautiful Tosca. She died in May. I thought she had been run over but my husband admitted to me yesterday that when he found her she had pellet wounds and it looked like someone had dumped her by the side of the road. He didn’t want to tell me but he slipped up when I read him a report of something similar happening. I am so glad your neighbour’s cats had such a long, happy life they have left their imprints on your deck and in your life – I love the drawings..

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Laura (Createarteveryday) says :

    Sorry to hear this, Kerfe. These are lovely drawings, the top one in particular, so perfect, and seems to reflect the mood of your post today. Sleeping kitties, so beautiful. Take care, my friend. ❤

    Like

  3. Catherine Johnson says :

    Aww sad day. Great sketches.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. memadtwo says :

    I know you really liked those cats. Hope some other ones come by at some point so you can admire and sketch them. Also hope you guys had a good father’s day.

    Like

    • memadtwo says :

      I did. I think the cats will not return until they finish construction on that building behind us. So sad to lose the beautiful church and the cats too. Ah, capitalism…

      Like

  5. Claudia McGill says :

    Ditto on hoping that some new ones come along to continue the string. These drawings are beautiful.

    Liked by 1 person

    • memadtwo says :

      Thanks Claudia. As I said to Nina, I don’t think we’ll see many new cats until the building construction behind us is finished. It’s endless, and wreaking havoc on our immediate environment too. But you never know.

      Like

  6. Susan Feniak says :

    Beautifully expressed Kerfe.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Jodi says :

    Awh! So sweet that you welcomed them too, and so sorry for the loss…… I love the sweet sketches. And I MOSTLY love this line…… corners of the eye that always seem to be pregnant with the past…. I never heard of that way of expressing it, and I love it!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Charlie O'Shields (doodlewash) says :

    Awww…. I’m so sorry to hear that. Beautiful words and images to preserve the story. Sending love your way my friend

    Liked by 1 person

  9. debiriley says :

    I love your kitty sketches, so loose and free and capturing the moment. Its sad … though, they’re gone. Your post was a treasured memento, very beautiful.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. colorpencil2014 says :

    perfect!! All three of them!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. merrildsmith says :

    I particularly love the top drawing with the poem–bittersweet. But so sad about the cat. I’m sorry for your loss. The drawings and poem are a lovely tribute though.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Sunshine Jansen says :

    Oh, your line drawings capture so well the ineffable nature of the gifts cats give us.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Teresa Robeson says :

    So sorry they’re all gone now. Love the quality of your line work!

    Liked by 1 person

  14. teproleum says :

    Very nice poem and drawings. The first drawing gave me the feels… I’ve never owned a cat, but this reminds me of my dog whom I lost 25 years ago. I’ve never had another one since. I miss her so bad right now.

    Liked by 1 person

  15. artandmoondreams says :

    Beautiful and poignant.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

