Self Portrait #15: One More for Man Ray

self portrait 15 comp

Man Ray did not have Photoshop, so he constructed his images in the darkroom.  Amazing!  My Ray-inspired self portrait was produced in digital layers (then printed and stitched), something I did back in the day with frequency, but hardly ever now.  I enjoy it, and given time, would do more.

man ray 9 self portrait 1as

Although first I drew the components.  My daughter was luckily home and agreed to take some photos for me to work from.

hand comp

I think if I were doing this piece again, I would structure it differently, doing an abstract ground of greys first, instead of adding the solid areas later.  But it’s digital! so I can always go back and revisit the layers.  Also I would cut the hands and faces out before I scanned them, so I didn’t have to deal with “selecting” the part of the images I wanted.

face comp

I’m also not sure it’s done…I had thought to do stitching for the dark stripe at the bottom, but I’m undecided.  I could layer in a stripe, but I like the texture of the stitching.  I do think it needs the balance of dark in that area.  What do you think?

stitched close up 2s

So I’m also not sure it’s still selfie day…Teresa?  But the 25th is always a good deadline for me to complete the next in my series of 100 self portraits (you can see the ones I’ve done so far here).  I could keep going forever with Man Ray, but I think it’s time for a new artistic inspiration, plus I’m itching to do some painted portraits and compare them with my first attempts.

Stay tuned!

Tags: , , , , , , ,

About memadtwo

For more madness, follow me on Instagram @h_zimel

41 responses to “Self Portrait #15: One More for Man Ray”

  1. Tom Donovan says :

    Hey Kerfe – Wouldn’t change a thing. Wonderful self-portrait. Although you used a Man Ray photo collage as your reference – you made it your own with your hand-drawn images and your stitching. Brilliant, Kerfe! All of your work is so creative! – Tom

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Nicola says :

    Wow, these are wonderful!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Teresa Robeson says :

    I LOVE this, Kerfe! I have no suggestions for improvements because I think it’s brilliant in bothe method and execution. ❤️

    I flaked out and forgot it’s Selfie Day! You’re much more on top of things than I am. But I might whip something up to post for today. I’ll grab your link for compiling!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Jodi says :

    Oh Kerfe! Each week I grow to admire your artistic brilliance more and more! This is absolutely amazing! Blown away! Love it!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Sand Salt Moon says :

    wow, this is great – I’d see this in an art show, for sure ! excellent

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Laura (Createarteveryday) says :

    Kerfe, I wouldn’t change this one speck. It’s perfect just as it is. Jodi is right, you are a standout artist and it’s always fun to see what you’re going to concoct next! Flame on!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Claudia McGill says :

    I believe it is finished. Astoundingly beautiful and revealing.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. 10000hoursleft says :

    This is great Kerfe. I live the hands and colours that work really well to give it a negative look. I think it was your man ray portraits that made me follow your blog, or at least the first posts that stayed with me. So…who will be the next inspiration?

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Belinda Broughton says :

    I love it. I love the texture of the stitching. If you decide to add dark to the bottom I think it would be good only in the central areas and not over the arms.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Sharon Mann says :

    Brilliant Kerfe! I love the layering the stitching is the “piece de resistance”.

    Liked by 1 person

    • memadtwo says :

      Thanks Sharon! I really love an excuse to stitch on paper, although it’s a slow process. And I should do more Photoshop layering…although time…(you know about that).

      Like

  11. Rebecca says :

    I like this very much indeed. Wonderful stuff. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  12. sheldonk2014 says :

    Just dropped by to say hello
    See how things were going
    As always Sheldon

    Liked by 1 person

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. #DoodleDay zebra + #SelfieArt Day recap | One Good Thing - June 27, 2016

Leave a Reply

