This World Will Still

leaf print 2s

The light is gone has rippled dark
wide open now it radiates
hidden riddles guide our way

Decayed in blood our cells depart
with flames turned brown by endless wait
for whispered sleep by phantom’s shade

The flood forgets to fill the ark
all sense of form evaporates
perspective bends begins to fade

And if we drown combine dissolve
this world will still ferment revolve

1280px-Drowned_leaves

Jane Dougherty’s challenge this week had a few parts.  First, the photo, above; then the form, trilonnet; and then the beginning words “the light is gone”.

leaf print 1s

Once again, I tried some monoprints, this time over an old piece of digital art with leaves that I printed out a few times.  I’m still not sure what I’m trying to do with this technique, so I’m also not sure what I think about the results.  They do seem to suit the theme though.

leaf paint print s

The one above I didn’t like at all, so I painted on top of the printing.  I may end up cutting it up for a collage.

Tags: , , ,

22 responses to “This World Will Still”

  1. Sharon Mann says :

    Inspiring creative words and art.

  2. goldenf says :

    Love the artwork! And your wording is beautiful as well and complements all the colors

  3. Jane Dougherty says :

    The words paint such a huge picture, from the tiniest details of blood cells to the fermenting of the universe. Wonderful! The colours of the second piece, the one you painted over, are really lovely, like mountains at the end of summer.

  4. Jodi says :

    So hard for me to put into words the emotions you evoke with your words and art. Just know I am blown away … Again…

  5. Charlie O'Shields (doodlewash) says :

    Very wonderful words and I love the over painting …really nice piece!

  6. merrildsmith says :

    Wow–stunning words and art! Great job!

  7. Laura (Createarteveryday) says :

    OK, WP goblins are at work, your and Nina’s posts haven’t showed up in my Reader for DAYS. I need to run some errands and don’t want to rush through your posts, but wanted to let you know. I came here on purpose because of WWM – not even sure if your latest posts are in my Reader, even today! Will catch up soon.

    • memadtwo says :

      I had a whole online conversation yesterday with a WordPress technician about the problems with the Reader…he claimed no one else has complained, but said he would check it out. I’ll let you know if he gets back to me!

Leave a Reply

