What’s Going on in your Mind?

Being highly unmotivated today I sat down to watch a movie I’ve wanted to see for a while: Disney/Pixar “Inside Out”. This movie goes inside a little girl’s head and characters control her emotions from a central dashboard. Joy, Sadness, Anger, Fear and Disgust work together in a most amusing way. Little spheres contain memories, good and bad; core memories live in a special container. As an artist I was amazed by the complexity of design and thought in this picture. I paused a couple of times to try and sketch the emotions. 

My daughter has suggested to me that my drawings are cartoon-like and that I should try my hand at cartooning. This movie certainly inspired me to try. Here are the emotions Joy and Sadness and then a clip of the family shot off the television. 

Tags: , ,

About memadtwo

For more madness, follow me on Instagram @h_zimel :)

13 responses to “What’s Going on in your Mind?”

  1. Jodi says :

    Adorable I’ve been wanting to see that movie. Did you like?

    Like

  2. Elusive Trope says :

    cartoons can be as evocative and dazzling as any of the art forms. you’re up to the task I believe. 🙂

    Like

  3. memadtwo says :

    That’s an intriguing idea Nina. A good start! (K)

    Like

  4. tequihby says :

    I like your sketches of the characters. It’s a great movie, I’m glad you enjoyed it.

    I really appreciated the character designs for this one as well. For some reason Anger is my favourite.

    Like

  5. jessevanwagner says :

    I still haven’t seen this, I’ve wanted to for awhile, but haven’t.
    I’m putting it on my to do list this week, Pixar doesn’t disappoint.

    Love your cartoon drawings. Sadness and Joy have such fitting expressions.

    Like

Leave a Reply

