July 2016: Masses of Green

masses of green s

It is summer and the sun loves a million green leaves, masses of green.
–Carl Sandburg, “Mask”

masses of green close up s

I’ve used Carl Sandburg before to illustrate grids.  A folklorist and singer as well as a writer, his verse catches the rhythms of ordinary speech in vivid juxtapositions of image and sound.  I could conjure illustrations for every line.

green comp

To celebrate the first day of World Watercolor Month, sponsored by Charlie at Doodlewash, I painted a ground of green before stitching lines and then collaging an irregular grid with foliage from magazines.  After I did the green wash, I folded the paper to form the lines for the stitching.  They showed up a lot better before the colors dried.  I think maybe the paper was too wet to start with, but part of the idea this month is to try things out and learn from them.

You can read all of Sandburg’s poem, “Mask”, here.  “Your toes are singing to meet the song of your arms:” –but that’s for another day.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

About memadtwo

For more madness, follow me on Instagram @h_zimel

21 responses to “July 2016: Masses of Green”

  1. merrildsmith says :

    I love your experimentation with green. I particularly like the second photo–it looks like a mosaic design.
    I haven’t read Sandburg in a long time. I don’t associate him with such wild passion. I love the toes singing line!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Claudia McGill says :

    I extra like this one. I imagine myself lying on the ground and looking up into a tree just packed with green, shimmery leaves. Love it. This is one to look back on in winter just to get that summer feeling again…

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Jodi says :

    I love claudia’s comment. I extra love this too. Extra extra. I love the way it makes me feel. Calm. Happy. I need that right now. work is very busy. Thank you. Xo

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Lynz Real Cooking says :

    So lovely and different!

    Like

  5. JoAnn Chateau says :

    Beautiful… For me, first look was an aerial view of a shady neighborhood… but I guess green background to squares more logical as grass… Happy World Watercolor Month!

    Liked by 1 person

    • memadtwo says :

      Thanks JoAnn, someone else just pointed out it looks like a satellite image too. I think you can choose your point of view! There should be a lot of good watercolor floating around on WordPress for sure.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Teresa Robeson says :

    These remind me of the satellite images that hubby loves! Gorgeous greens, too!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Sharon Mann says :

    Aw the calm and coolness of green, well received here in the hot Las Vegas climate.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Laura (Createarteveryday) says :

    Reminds me of an aerial view of a city in a park! Love it! Oh, and I had to click follow again. WP had somehow unfollowed me from your blog. Which explains the Reader problem, but not the unfollowed part! Just letting you know

    Liked by 1 person

  9. artandmoondreams says :

    Beautiful grid painting, love the texture and layering of the different greens, very soothing to look at.

    Like

  10. Charlie O'Shields (doodlewash) says :

    This is awesome!! One of my faves…really wonderful feeling to this and that green…perfection! 😍

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

