Compass Rose

compass rose wht s

follow between
the compass rose and the waters
follow between
the words unspoken and unseen
years binding mothers and daughters
names holding memory’s augurs
follow between

823px-Redon,_Odilon_-_La_Voile_jaune_(The_Yellow_Sail)_-_Google_Art_Project

The poem is my response to Jane Dougherty’s challenge this week to write a rondelet.  She provided another wonderful painting as reference, above.  I did not use the prompt word of “journey” although perhaps it’s inferred.

compass rose close up s

Once again, I had something different in mind when I began my painting.  I meant to make it looser, and do much more collage, but as I started framing out a compass rose in pencil, I decided to embrace the geometry.  It reminded me of painting print designs, something I did a little bit of during my mostly-knit designing career.  Slow and peaceful.

 All my watercolors are done in Luma dyes, the paints I used (along with gouache) for print textile designs back in the 1980s.  They don’t seem to make them anymore; Dr. Ph. Martin’s liquid watercolors are the closest thing I’ve found online.  I’ve never used tube watercolors, only paintbox, so I can’t compare, but I like having paint in a liquid form.  It’s pretty intense right out of the bottle; just water it down for a lighter shade.  And it mixes and layers well.

I painted each triangle solidly; some have 2 layers of different colors to make a 3rd shade.  For the circular border I used lots of water and a larger brush and let them bleed together.  Then I cut out the circle, pasted it on top of some ocean, and put a rose in the center.

Happy 4th to all celebrating, see you next week.

Tags: , , , , , ,

28 responses to “Compass Rose”

  1. Laura (Createarteveryday) says :

    This is gorgeous and love the verse – makes me think of my daughter and you with yours as well. 💜

  2. Jane Dougherty says :

    Mothers and daughters. Sometimes we do need a compass to keep us on the right path.

  3. Jodi says :

    So lovely ❤️🎀

  4. memadtwo says :

    Lovely. Really great and powerful work.

  5. Tori says :

    Beautiful, this really struck a chord with me as our boat is named “Wind Rose” which was the predecessor to the compass rose. I’m hoping to have a similar design painted on her one day.

  6. artandmoondreams says :

    Beautiful pairing of image, symbols, and verse. An enjoyable way to start the day with. Thank you for sharing.

  7. Sharon Mann says :

    Very meaningful post. By the way, I spent 10 years as a crochet designer.

    • memadtwo says :

      Thanks Sharon. I knew you had worked with fiber. Crochet is one thing I never mastered, except for a basic chain stitch. But I have a beautiful afghan crocheted by my grandmother.

  8. merrildsmith says :

    I love both the poem and the painting. I think “follow between” is an interesting phrase–it’s a kind of unfixed space and I like the way your verse flows. The painting does have sharp edges (and points), but there is still that in between space. 🙂 The colors are great!

    • memadtwo says :

      Thanks Merril. Playing with the color arrangement was one of the pleasures of doing this one. And one of the pleasures of textile design. I don’t know where “follow between” came from, but I liked the ambiguity as well.

  9. Cathe says :

    Insightful poem and wonderful and creative compass!

  10. Kat Myrman says :

    Beautiful imagery Kerfe! 🙂

Leave a Reply

