Sleepy Song

sleepy songs close up s

pink wish s

I’m still working on cleaning out my old work files.  When you design from home, they tend to accumulate, and the last time I moved I never even opened a lot of boxes.  I found this painting in a grouping of children’s book illustrations I did at least 25 years ago.  I did not paint it on watercolor paper, so it’s a bit wrinkly.

sleepy songs s

A friend of mine worked at Simon and Schuster at the time and suggested I send some art for consideration. The rejection letter was in the file, along with a bunch of wildly different illustrations…well they did say the art was “above average”.

Working freelance, I tried anything and everything design-wise that was asked for or suggested.  Some things worked out better than others.

pink wish opening
hearts filling time with winged dreams
gentle rhapsody

And more Magnetic Poetry…as I told The Elusive Trope, it’s both relaxing and addictive.

Tags: , , , , , ,

About memadtwo

For more madness, follow me on Instagram @h_zimel

24 responses to “Sleepy Song”

  1. merrildsmith says :

    I could definitely see that art in a children’s picture book!
    Lovely poem–” hearts filling time with winged dreams” –beautiful!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Jodi says :

    This is sooooooooooooooooooooo lovely! To imagine you did this 25 years ago! Wow! I love the magnetic poetry too – very cool!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Laura (Createarteveryday) says :

    Really charming and nice to have an art “history” to go back and review!

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Sharon Mann says :

    Beautiful post, I tried the children’s market too, It’s tough place to get in the door.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Claudia McGill says :

    Give that little person a hug, that’s what you want to do. What a great image and poem, and together even better. The old waiting all this time for the new, to be complete!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. memadtwo says :

    That is a wonderful illustration! How did I never know you tried that?

    Like

  7. Jill Kuhn says :

    What a sweet drawing! Love it! And your haiku too! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Charlie O'Shields (doodlewash) says :

    What a fabulous image!! Like finding a treasure. It’s beautiful! And your poem is wonderful! 😍

    Liked by 1 person

  9. artandmoondreams says :

    Beautiful painting, love the pairing with verse, adds even more sweetness.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Sand Salt Moon says :

    Sweet wishing ~ I love the pink and the forms and the cuddliness of this ~ definitely above average, very nice!!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

