Draw a Bird Day: the local crow

crow 1s

Crowman, are you stalking me?
call to attention
harsh, always interrupting.

crow 2s

Do you want me to look up?
I’m telling stories,
remaking the recent past.

crow 3s

But that part’s invisible…
or do you hear it?
and are you laughing at me?

crow 4s

OK—I’m leaving that world.
I’m here now, present.
I’m unfolding those regrets.

crow 5s

Are you happy now?

crow 6s

Dedicated to my local crow, whose distinctive voice never fails to bring me back to real time.

Brush and ink on rice paper.

 

Tags: , , , , ,

About memadtwo

For more madness, follow me on Instagram @h_zimel

33 responses to “Draw a Bird Day: the local crow”

  1. Cezane & Michelle says :

    I loved this. The art work, the lines.
    Sublime post! – Cezane

    Liked by 2 people

  2. colorpencil2014 says :

    Ahw, my favorite bird! Love it, you captured its character so well! Thanks!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Jodi says :

    Awesome painting and fun visit with the crow. 💜

    Liked by 1 person

  4. M.R. Emberson says :

    Beautiful illustrations of one of my favorite birds! Happy DAB Day, and have a great weekend!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. First Night Design says :

    Beautiful drawings, K!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Laura (Createarteveryday) says :

    Beautiful work, K, we have them too and boy do they squawk! My husband leaves all kinds of food out for them, calls them nature’s recyclers lol. I love the way you capture them in flight, that’s really not easy to do and you seem to do it effortlessly. I’m gonna channel my inner Kerfe and ask you to post a link in my comments. I’m sure glad you started that, because it sure makes the roundup easier!! Thank you. 💜 and happy Friday!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Sharon Mann says :

    Wonderful drawing sequence and poem, I have a small group of crows that greet me on my morning walk.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. memadtwo says :

    Love how crows fly out of the road a split second before the car almost hits them. Very smart bird and your interpretation truly captures their beauty. N.

    Like

  9. Lynz Real Cooking says :

    Very nice words and wonderful paintings!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Sunshine Jansen says :

    Utterly heart-lifting — and in that final painting, he does indeed look happy! We all need a local crow to keep our spirits on point! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  11. REcreate-RebeccaEvansCreate says :

    What a great study of the crow, each and every one

    Liked by 1 person

  12. debiriley says :

    each is so full of mood, and sensitivity! wonderfully captured movement and character. I love those brush strokes 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Susan Feniak says :

    He looks boisterous!! All very well done!

    Liked by 1 person

  14. artandmoondreams says :

    Magnificent, like watching a choreographed dance set to mesmerizing verse…love the energy and movement, a powerful collection of beautiful paintings.

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Myriam (Myr's Bytes) says :

    Wonderful line intensity, Kerfe! I love how your series manifests the energy of crows. And lovely what you said, about the crow calling you back to the present.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

