Into the Woods+Draw a Bird

My husband and I watched “Into the Woods” the other night, a beautiful movie (from a Broadway play), book by James Lapine and music/lyrics by Stephen Sondheim. We both thought it was a work of genius featuring Meryl Streep, James Corden, Anna Kendrick, Johnny Depp and many other fine actors. 

It inspired me to attempt to paint a woods. Mine is not as spooky as the one in the film. 

I drew a couple of owls in forgetting it was Draw a Bird day. I plan to draw a thrasher if not too busy at work but I figured I could sneak in my owls. 

Tags: , ,

About memadtwo

For more madness, follow me on Instagram @h_zimel

19 responses to “Into the Woods+Draw a Bird”

  1. Sharon Mann says :

    What an inviting watercolor into the woods.

    Like

  2. Nicola says :

    I really like this. The tree bark and owl is great. Good composition too – keeps me looking for a while

    Like

  3. Jodi says :

    So cool Nina! Don’t think I’ve seen that movie so need to remember it. Love your woods AND those OWLS!!!

    Like

  4. Lynz Real Cooking says :

    Lovely paintings!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. memadtwo says :

    I love all the dimensions in the woods…it’s not clear what’s forward or back. And the owls are perfect! (K)

    Like

  6. memadtwo says :

    Thank you K. Keep cool this weekend.

    Like

  7. REcreate-RebeccaEvansCreate says :

    What a fantastic full page, it looks like an illustration in a book 😀

    Like

  8. Laura (Createarteveryday) says :

    Love your scene, Nina! This is beautiful and you have so much depth here. I wish I could paint trees! Can you post a link to this post under my comments so I can manage a bit faster doing my roundup next week? Much appreciated!

    Like

  9. artandmoondreams says :

    Lovely woods, the owls are icing on the cake…err, tree. ;D

    Like

  10. merrildsmith says :

    Wonderful painting. I especially like the detail of the owl in the branches.
    I have mixed feelings about the movie. I love the Sondheim musical, and the Broadway soundtrack. I thought the movie was OK, but I honestly don’t remember much of it.

    Like

  11. Myriam (Myr's Bytes) says :

    Lovely painting, Nina :-). It reminds me of when I saw two recently fledged owl siblings in the woods a while back. It is a special feeling when two sets of owl eyes are following me. I haven’t seen that movie, so I’ll put it on my To Watch list. Meryl Streep is always in good movies… those I remember anyway.

    Like

Leave a Reply

