The Selkie’s Daughter

selkie whit 2s

An earthly nourris sits and sings,
And aye she sings, “Ba lilly wean,
Little ken I my bairn‘s father,
Far less the land that he staps in.”
–Child Ballad 113, “The Great Silkie”

O who is where is my father?
moving water
hear me singing
waves come bringing

his voice inside me like the wind
I have no friend
only yearning
years are turning

I wait because I have no home
always alone
nor land nor sea
embraces me

832px-Heinrich_Vogeler_Sehnsucht_(Träumerei)_c1900

A minute poem inspired by Jane Dougherty’s challenge this week that began with Heinrich Vogeler Sehnsucht’s painting above.

selkie close up s

You can hear the haunting Child Ballad here.  I first learned the song from Judy Collins’ version on her album “Golden Apples of the Sun”.

 

Tags: , , ,

About memadtwo

For more madness, follow me on Instagram @h_zimel

23 responses to “The Selkie’s Daughter”

  1. Jodi says :

    Haunting indeed.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Fantasy Raconteur says :

    Oh, this is great! Love the wording and the story you’ve chosen to write about.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Jane Dougherty says :

    Lovely use of myth and ballad, such a good choice for this form of poetry.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Laura (Createarteveryday) says :

    Haunting is a great word for this, image and verse both.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Sharon Mann says :

    The wait must have been agonizing.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. debiriley says :

    both are so lovely and mysterious; love the colors and movement of the painting!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. artandmoondreams says :

    Hauntingly beautiful melody, lovely watercolor, it embraces the story with form and color. The depth of feeling with this collection feels immense.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. merrildsmith says :

    You can never go wrong with a Selkie tale. 🙂 I think I may have first heard the ballad on the Judy Collins album, as well. Lovely take on the tale!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

