Bearded

bearded comp

Here I be; they won’t find me.
They know not this place–
all rocks look the same to them.

This land belongs to no one–
no one owns the trees.
I abide with all creatures.

Will they evict the sparrows?
Will they refuse rain,
build a wall against the sea?

I abide with all creatures–
they abide nowhere.
I will wait; they know not how.

lookout

The landscape above is this week’s photo prompt from Sue Vincent Thursday Photo Prompt – Look Out – #writephoto.  I’ve been reading responses to it, and my drip painting that morphed into a man with a large beard seemed to fit with a lot of them.  So I wrote a poetic response too.

I have to admit I was also influenced by Hope Jahren’s wonderful book “Lab Girl”, which I recently read.  Her observations about plants and people are needed as we try to figure out how to save ourselves and the Earth our home.

 

Tags: , , , , ,

About memadtwo

For more madness, follow me on Instagram @h_zimel

32 responses to “Bearded”

  1. Laura (Createarteveryday) says :

    Love the creativity that went into this and the morphing into something else. Boy, I bet you and I could do it, Kerfe. The 99% could do it! Thanks for your post. (I’m thinking of Jo again.)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Sharon Mann says :

    Very touching poem. Love your transformed art.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Michael Richards (certainline) says :

    Love the bearded man, Kerfe, and the moving poem.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. merrildsmith says :

    That bearded man is great. Lovely poem, “I abide with all creatures.”

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Jodi says :

    beautiful poem and such creative art! So Kerfe! Love it!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Sue Vincent says :

    Love this… it says so much about our attitude to Nature. Thank you.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Susan Feniak says :

    Yes this is SO Kerfe!! Glad you are having fun with watercolors. Morphing from one thing to another takes creativity and imagination. Both admirable.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Sunshine Jansen says :

    Both are captivating, but the poem has really sent me. I am definitely going to check out “Lab Girl”!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. tlryder says :

    Lovely. I love the environmental theme!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Charlie O'Shields (doodlewash) says :

    Loving these drips…so cool to see where they ended up going. And your words are wonderful

    Liked by 1 person

  11. memadtwo says :

    Excellent. You are becoming a great poet.

    Like

  12. artandmoondreams says :

    Beautiful poem, moving. Love the drip painting and the emotions and movement it appears to carry…wonderful feature, thank you for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. debiriley says :

    Awesome. clever. creative. imaginative. I LIKE it!!!! 🙂 cheers, Debi

    Liked by 1 person

  14. KL Caley says :

    Wow – well done on combining those two creative channels! I think it worked really well. Great post. KL ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

