Nice

No art today, just a sadness as I remember my love for beautiful Nice. 

My first visit was in 1969–I had just graduated from college. I had saved up enough money for a couple of months in Europe. Italy, Greece, France and the U.K. were on the itinerary. Arriving in Nice my friend and I were struck by its beauty, that wonderful promenade, the unexpected stony beaches. I remember one meal: little fishes the size of minnows, fried, heads and tails intact. I bravely ate every one. 

Fast forward many years. My parents used to rent a house in Roussilon and would generously invite the family. We always flew home out of Nice and used to spend a few days. One night we were riding down the boulevard and spied some ladies of the night. “Hookers”, said my sister. “What are hookers?” asked my young daughter. Much chortling from all and my father said “they fish”. Very funny at the time. 

My heart hurts thinking of the exuberant Nicois folks celebrating Bastille Day and being mowed down by a madman. When will the madness end?

21 responses to “Nice”

  1. Kat Myrman says :

    Beautiful memories of a beautiful place. Though I have never had the good fortune to visit, my heart too grieves with Nice…

  2. kirkistan says :

    My heart hurts too.

  3. janetweightreed10 says :

    Yes, another terrible atrocity and as you say in beautiful Nice. I will be flying there in October on my way to Saorge – a village high up on the border of France and Italy. One thing I know – and that is we must continue to live our lives as normally as possible. Sadly, there will be more atrocities…where next we don’t know…..but that’s the madness of it all. I did love your Father’s comment about fish:) Janet. x

  4. Catherine Johnson says :

    My only memory is going past Joan Collin’s house and that the whole area was just so pretty. Sad times.

  5. merrildsmith says :

    Thank you for sharing your memories. My heart aches, too.

  6. memadtwo says :

    Beautiful tribute Nina. (K)

  7. rivrvlogr says :

    I hope for an end to madness, but it seems to be nowhere in sight.

  8. Lynz Real Cooking says :

    We pray for peace! xxx

  9. Jodi says :

    So sad are the events of the days. So happy and joyous are your memories. Let’s try to focus on that good. šŸ’œ

  10. Laura (Createarteveryday) says :

    Focus on the beautiful, and please some artwork Nina or a song would be so wonderful we really need to drive out the hate with love and the arts. Thank you for sharing your story with us. (((((Nina))))) Stay strong, my friend. šŸ’›

Leave a Reply

