Orbiting

calling forward wht s

moon beamed
 shadow falling
I am calling forward
waiting to parallel myself
behind

Le_somnambule”_(-Лунатик-)_Марка_Шагала_1

Jane Dougherty’s challenge prompt this week is a wonderful painting by Marc Chagall.  The poem form is cinquain.

the cat knows s

I have other ideas…well I won’t get to them this week, but I’m sure this painting will be returning.

Tags: , , , ,

About memadtwo

For more madness, follow me on Instagram @h_zimel :)

36 responses to “Orbiting”

  1. rivrvlogr says :

    I’ve wondered what would happen, should Ken of wake and Ken of dream were to meet. I’ll try to be sure neither is standing on a roof, in that event.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. memadtwo says :

    I wonder when Chagall painted that one. Maybe very early on?

    Like

  3. merrildsmith says :

    I love: “I am calling forward
    waiting to parallel myself
    behind”

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Jane Dougherty says :

    I hope you get some more out of this painting. The sense of being all over the place comes out strongly. Maybe the next one will be aiming for something. The moon, maybe?

    Liked by 1 person

  5. artandmoondreams says :

    These are great, love the play of images with verse and collage…who doesn’t like being moon beamed?! Delightful poem.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Jennifer G. Knoblock says :

    “I am calling forward” is my favorite line. It seems mysterious yet so positive.

    Liked by 2 people

  7. Jodi says :

    Much to think about. Calling forward. I like it 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Laura (Createarteveryday) says :

    I don’t know how you manage these, Kerfe. They are so beautiful and thought-provoking and how do you adhere to these forms of verse? I could never do it, but I just love to enjoy yours. And thinking of Jo again with the planets, hands, faces.

    Liked by 1 person

    • memadtwo says :

      Thanks Laura. I’ve been doing collage a long time! They say you simplify when you get older, but I seem to be going in the opposite direction.
      The poetry is just practice. For me, the forms provide a focus and discipline. The biggest lesson I learned in Design Fundamentals is that restrictions actually give you more freedom and for me it’s certainly always been true. And I’ve always loved to play with words, that’s just what poetry is.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Laura (Createarteveryday) says :

        Wow, restrictions give more freedom. I’ll have to think about this. I’ve always felt the opposite but hmm. Ok thank you.

        Liked by 1 person

      • memadtwo says :

        That class was quite an eye-opener for me. But I couldn’t have worked comfortably as a designer without knowing it. The restrictions given with each project are an opportunity to come up with a creative solution both because they focus your thinking and because they keep you from being overwhelmed with possible solutions. My instructor had to hit me over the head with it a bit, but I finally got it. A few things to work with are much better than everything when looking for an answer.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Laura (Createarteveryday) says :

        Ok, that makes sense. I am sometimes overwhelmed by the variety of art supplies (owned and not) now that I’m into mixed media stuff. Hmm. Food for thought. Thanks.

        Liked by 1 person

      • memadtwo says :

        It doesn’t mean I’m always good at keeping myself from too much input!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

