Incomplete (memories)

memories incomplete s

“We remembered our living days wrong.”
–Annie Dillard

“Time moves in one direction, memory in another.”
–William Gibson

ghosted part 3s2

Memory is a tricky thing.  Ask two people about the same event, and you may end up thinking they were on different planets at the time.  And it’s so easy to get caught in the past, replaying events over and over.

ghosted
things naked
with remembered color
dark
yet almost like that smile
opening
desire

Reading Annie Dillard (“The Abundance”–highly recommended) reminds me about the importance of paying attention to each present moment.  The past, like the future, is always incomplete.

As is my stitched drip painting.  I’m still in the middle or maybe only at the beginning.  I’ll keep stitching until it feels like it’s time to stop I guess.

#WQWWC – Writers Quote Wednesday Writing Challenge – Memories

Try your own magnetic poem here.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

32 responses to “Incomplete (memories)”

  1. Rebecca says :

    I like this very much, and also the magnetic poem link – thank you. It presented me with this oddity, which I offer to you (sorry it’s rather sad):

    sleep
    recall pounding trudge as feet drive still
    soar above spray yet beneath death.
    ay I milk the saddest ache

    🙂

  2. Laura (Createarteveryday) says :

    Interesting beginning, and enjoying your magnetic poetry series too. Now I’m wondering if I should check out that book…..

  3. Jodi says :

    So much good stuff once again K! You start my mornings so thoughtfully. I am in love with your stitched drip painting. I can appreciate the eye and creativity it truly takes to create such beauty. Bravo!

    • memadtwo says :

      Thanks Jodi. I’ve been trying to figure out where to go with watercolors…I do the drip paintings with leftover paint, but somehow they always call to me to embellish them. My plan right now is for much more stitching! We’ll see…

  4. Sharon Mann says :

    Oh so true, I just spent a weekend with my kids and talking about the past. Thanks for all of the links. And I love with your stitched art.

  5. kirkistan says :

    I am loving that image and the text.

  6. Silver Threading says :

    Excellent words about memories. I am loving the image too! Well done! ❤

  7. rivrvlogr says :

    Your poem is excellent.
    Regarding your drip painting… I tend to see faces and figures/bodies in all sorts of places – floor tiles, random patterns, spots on the wall – so, of course I see figures here.

    However, I vehemently deny seeing anything suggesting Kama Sutra. 😉

  8. Sand Salt Moon says :

    Neat effects with the stitching and paint!

  9. memadtwo says :

    Yes, incredible effects achieved here. N.

  10. merrildsmith says :

    I love the mystery of this poem–are these things true memories or not?
    Your drip painting compliments it.

    I really like the quotations, too.

    • memadtwo says :

      Thanks Merril, you are always so thoughtful in your comments.
      I do think memory is a mystery. Having experienced Alzheimer’s with my mother and aunt, I have even less idea how it works. But certainly the gestalt feels true for me.

Leave a Reply

