The Way Over

stepping stones s

like so many
I step between two rivers
vanishing in to
the bisection of a cross
a sanctified stillness but

I pause here caught I
quench
listening can’t reach can’t
penetrate can’t seem

to understand to
vocalize the sounds which find
knowing language my
echo is immense my way
merges under and over

stepping stones ilkley

When I saw Sue Vincent’s photo prompt, above, this week, I immediately thought of Jimmy Cliff’s “Many Rivers to Cross”. 

And I do like a shovel poem.

Tags: , , , , ,

15 responses to “The Way Over”

  1. Lynz Real Cooking says :

    The words are amazing and the art

  2. Sharon Mann says :

    These words speak to me, right now I am under and over. Beautiful Kerfe.

  3. Jodi says :

    Oh k! 💙

  4. artandmoondreams says :

    “I step between two rivers/ vanishing…” Love the verse, love the echo in your collage..and the form, fun seeing how everything tied together…”under and over”…thank you for sharing the beauty.

  5. Laura (Createarteveryday) says :

    Boy, I can identify with this one too. And beautifully expressed, both in your verse and in the artwork. I love that reference image. The artwork is more hopeful, I think. The verse expresses the befuddlement I find whenever I see news headlines, at least that’s how I see it. Thanks, Kerfe. Beautifully done.

Leave a Reply

