Golden Gate 2

I tried this image again on smaller Arches paper (9″x12″). I think it worked better; I mixed some grey into the white and attempted to show the rising cloud of fog. Also threw a few birds in the water for fun. 

Here was my first attempt. It’s clunky compared to this one today, I think. 

Tags: ,

About memadtwo

For more madness, follow me on Instagram @h_zimel

12 responses to “Golden Gate 2”

  1. REcreate-RebeccaEvansCreate says :

    Wow, the top one with the addition of the birds, really gives the impression of its size 😀

    Like

  2. melissabluefineart says :

    I’m really partial to the bottom one.

    Like

    • memadtwo says :

      Thank you! A bit more detail in the bridge in the bottom one. I just thought compositionally the smaller one worked a little better. On to the next bridge!

      Like

  3. Jodi says :

    Gorgeous!!!!! Loved the first one, and love this one even more! 🙂

    Like

  4. Snehal Kank says :

    Yupp I agree with Rebecca! But I love both old and new water!

    Like

  5. memadtwo says :

    The second one definitely looks foggy, and I like the gentle curve in the bridge…but I like the clarity in the first one too. (K)

    Like

  6. memadtwo says :

    I just mailed it off to my cousin–it was from a photograph he took. I hope he likes it.

    Like

  7. artandmoondreams says :

    It is always so interesting how the same subject can shine so differently depending on the size of the painting. Love them both, they have different perspectives and energy. The addition of the birds was brilliant, they bring life to the environment. Thank you for sharing.

    Like

  8. Laura (Createarteveryday) says :

    I like the mist in the bottom one and the water in the top one! 💜

    Like

  9. Lynz Real Cooking says :

    I really love these both!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

