Flicker

flicker collage s

I had been hearing a distinctive bird call, but I couldn’t see the bird.

song sanctuary green ground s

I spent a pleasant hour on the Cornell bird site, listening to bird calls.  I found it at last–a flicker!  They are members of the woodpecker family, and I’ve seen woodpeckers on the tree next door, but never a flicker.

flicker s

I can hear them, though, so I know they are around.  Evidently they like foraging on the ground, so I may need to look down instead of up…

flicker gouache s

I’m posting this early for Draw-A-Bird Day, which is coming up on August 8, hosted by Laura at CreateArtEveryday.  I have family coming to visit so I’ll be taking a break.  See you later in August!

flicker collage close up s

You can hear the bird call here–it’s the rolling rattle call.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

About memadtwo

For more madness, follow me on Instagram @h_zimel :)

26 responses to “Flicker”

  1. merrildsmith says :

    Funny timing–I’ve just been trying to identify the bird sounds I’ve been hearing this morning. (And confusing the cats.) It seems like all the birds have come out this morning, and our windows are wide open. Now that I’ve heard the flicker sound, I know I’ve heard them in the past, but not recently.
    Wonderful bird drawing/collage, and I love the last two lines of the poem!

    (Enjoy your family time!)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. artandmoondreams says :

    Lovely paintings, particularly the collage piece. What a beautiful song they have and what a treat to share, thank you.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. REcreate-RebeccaEvansCreate says :

    Ohh I love all of these examples, they all work so well individually and as a collection, ❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Jodi says :

    beautifully done K! Enjoy your time with family ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  5. rivrvlogr says :

    The art is gorgeous.
    I’ve used the Cornell site many times for the bird calls.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. thatnobodyartblog says :

    I love that collage at the end. Just beautiful!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Maia MacGregor says :

    I love the art! Flickers are a gorgeous sight in person; the gold and slate colors against each other are stunning. Keep a special eye on well-kept lawn areas, especially where you know there are anthills along the edges.

    Liked by 1 person

    • memadtwo says :

      I was thinking the churchyard might be a good place to look…there are always birds foraging on the grounds. Not too many lawns in my neighborhood (upper Manhattan). Thanks for the advice!

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Eileen McKenna {my creative resolution} says :

    Great work and awesome that you linked to the sound. I’ll be using that site to figure out others. Thx!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Lynz Real Cooking says :

    Such pretty paintings!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. MK says :

    Beautiful artwork of your bird friend. I’ve used the Cornell bird site, but sparingly. I love to hear the bird calls, but the cats become quite perplexed by the whole thing.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. melissabluefineart says :

    This is a favorite bird from my childhood. There was a flock of these living at my dad’s property. The call really takes me back 🙂 Your paintings of it are wonderful!

    Liked by 1 person

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. August Artwork (Draw a Bird Day Roundup) – Create art every day - September 11, 2016

Leave a Reply

