Portraits from the Whitney

nicole eisenman half the artist s

“I don’t get it…do I have to get it?…does the artist get it?…”
–overheard at the Whitney Museum this week

Nicole Eisenman’s  “1/2 the artist…”, above, was a favorite in the Whitney’s widely varied show containing a selection of portraits from its collection.  And the young woman’s overheard observation seems a good summary of the state of the world right now.

annette lemieux  30 raised fists s

Annette Lemieux’s 30 photos of raised fists.

de kooning  woman and bicycle s

de Kooning’s “Woman and Bicycle”

john wilde  portrait of wife helen s

John Wilde painted mystery into this portrait of his wife Helen.

calder wire portrait w shadow s

Calder’s hanging wire portrait was echoed in its shadow.

alston  the family s

Charles Henry Alston’s “The Family”

jay defeo  photo collage s

Jay DeFeo was represented with an enigmatic photo collage.

byron kim skin color grid s

This grid portrait by Byron Kim is ongoing as the artist continues to paint and rearrange squares reflecting the skin colors of his friends.

alice neel  andy warhol s

Alice Neel’s haunting portrait of Andy Warhol was another highlight for me.

This is a wonderful show.  And Stuart Davis is at the museum now too.

stuart davis 1s

I have to say this week has left me particularly disoriented.  I will be catching up with myself and everybody else slowly I think.

Tags: ,

About memadtwo

For more madness, follow me on Instagram @h_zimel

20 responses to “Portraits from the Whitney”

  1. 10000hoursleft says :

    Great selections you’ve shared. The photo collage looks like a Kerfe! I really like the warhol portrait. The john wilde is great and made me laugh as an artist friend of mine is doing a series of portraits (including one of me) in this vain. I might share it once it’s done.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Jodi says :

    Welcome back kerfe! Missed you. Thanks for sharing all this beauty and creativity.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. kirkistan says :

    I particularly like the Calder. Welcome back!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Charlie O'Shields (doodlewash) says :

    Welcome back, Kerfe!! And really like what you chose in this collection… thanks so much for sharing! That overheard conversation is priceless. I always think somebody should “get it” when it comes to art, but have found some modern art that leaves me thinking the same things. 😊

    Liked by 1 person

  5. rivrvlogr says :

    Your shadow photo is, in itself, a work of art.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Fibronacci says :

    Loved it! Thank you for sharing these!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Rebecca says :

    Me too for the Calder in particular – I have only seen his abstract mobiles before. Thanks for the lovely gallery choices! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Sand Salt Moon says :

    I love when you take me to the museum with you! And my fav is Kim’s skin color grid. Genius!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Michael Richards (certainline) says :

    Good to have you back, Kerfe. Thanks for flagging this up – now I know what to do the next time I’m in NYC!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. merrildsmith says :

    It sounds like a fascinating show.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

