Junk Mail Art: Rainbow

secrets wht 2s

She says that they are secrets, each to the other.
–Michael Cunningham, “The Seven Ages of Women”

can you judge
the distance?  is it
still or fast,
sharpening
or disintegrating?  or
cleverly concealed?

My poem uses the words from the Secret Keeper’s prompt last week (I’m still lagging behind):
SOUND | SHARP | CLEVER | JUDGE | STILL

Archip_Iwanowitsch_Kuindshi_009

I used Jane Dougherty’s microfiction prompt photo, but since I took the words directly out of Michael Cunningham’s story, I don’t think it qualifies as a fiction.  The sentence was so perfect for my illustration, though, and so beautiful in and of itself…well.  It’s something:  an illustrated sentence?

Michael Cunningham, probably best known as the Pulitzer Prize-winning author of “The Hours”, loves fairy tales, and collaborated with artist Rachel Feinstein to produce “The Seven Ages of Women” for New York Magazines’ fashion issue last August.  It’s a magical story in both word and vision (take a look here).

For extra credit, I decided to see if I could make my own serial from my past responses to Jane’s microfiction prompts.  This is what I came up with–what do you think?

this is the place s
This is the place to do it.

anywhere else you go s
Anywhere else you go is a compromise.

how much did they reveal s
“How much did they reveal of themselves?”

secrets wht 2s
She says that they are secrets, each to the other.

the kiss s
That’s when I knew.  Sometimes art imitates life.  Sometimes it complicates it.

Tags: , ,

About memadtwo

For more madness, follow me on Instagram @h_zimel :)

32 responses to “Junk Mail Art: Rainbow”

  1. merrildsmith says :

    Brilliant! I love everything about this: the new collage, the poems, and the series–Wow!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. REcreate-RebeccaEvansCreate says :

    I love all of these…especially the one that leads your eye to the house, it tells a great story 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Claudia McGill says :

    Yes. I feel this is complete and a whole. I love it.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Sharon Mann says :

    A feast for the soul, thank you Kerfe.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Sunshine Jansen says :

    They are spectacular together! And the poem is aces. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Sunshine Jansen says :

    And “The Seven Ages of Women”: oh my god; Oprah as Glinda the Good Witch! Inspired…

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Jane Dougherty says :

    I think I see a pattern emerging in this sequence—all about secrets.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. rivrvlogr says :

    Your poem is great, and the serial works very well.

    Liked by 1 person

    • memadtwo says :

      Thanks. When I first looked at the words, I didn’t have a clue, but after I made the image they seemed just right. Everything has its time and place I suppose, the problem is finding it.

      Liked by 1 person

  9. Jodi says :

    Wow – you are an absolute artistic genius Kerfe – that’s all there is to it! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  10. davekingsbury says :

    Words and pictures in harmony … kind of what lay behind my latest post https://davekingsbury.wordpress.com/2016/08/17/daily-prompt-ghost/

    Like

  11. kestrelart says :

    Great collages

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Charlie O'Shields (doodlewash) says :

    Love this!! Very cleverly done on all counts!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

