Ghosts

ghosts s

I thought
I sought demons,
discreetly hidden as
ghosts, pressed between remote pages.

instead

I found the cage of memory,
an enclosure beyond
caring, saving,
or time.

The word prompt “ghost” from The Daily Post yesterday, plus this week’s words from the Secret Keeper
THOUGHT | CARE | DISCREET | PRESS | SEEK

Caged hung figure #writephoto

and Sue Vincent’s photo prompt above  (I’m late again with this one; you can see all the responses here)

were my inspirations today.  The painting was actually done awhile ago, from a newspaper photo accompanying an article about refugees from one of the many troubled areas of the world.

 

Tags: , ,

29 responses to “Ghosts”

  1. Jodi says :

    I am so often moved beyond words…. By your art and prose ….

  2. merrildsmith says :

    Wow! So much here–I can definitely imagine a refugee.
    I agree, the art and poem are very moving.

  3. AprilEsutton says :

    The picture is amazing. It is interesting how different things come together in our minds. Your’s is a very creative mind.

  4. Michael Richards (certainline) says :

    So moving – both poem and image.

  5. onecreativefamily says :

    You are so darn talented. Beautiful work.

  6. Sharon Mann says :

    Your post today brought some deep thought. Thanks for stirring my creative thought.

  7. Stephen Moore says :

    Good one

  8. rivrvlogr says :

    Your words are a good fit for the inspiration behind your painting.

  9. Lynz Real Cooking says :

    The words and painting fit so well!

  10. Charlie O'Shields (doodlewash) says :

    Such a fabulous pairing of words and imagery. Wonderfully written and I really love that panting! 😍

  11. Eileen says :

    The painting is exquisite and haunting. Fascinating post.

  12. soireadthisbooktoday says :

    Love your work, as usual… and that watercolor would make an amazing quilt!

  13. Sheldon Kleeman says :

    Wp is so unreliable
    I’ve been trying to follow you with no luck
    It happens a lot
    So I come when I can
    I love your piece K
    very powerful and inspiring
    As always Sheldon

Leave a Reply

