Skull gift

My friend Michael found a great skull in Eagle Rock Reservation. He knows how much I like them so he gifted it to me today. 

Here it is in its bath of Hydrogen Peroxide. I thought this was a raccoon skull at first but it is way too large. I’m about to refer to my skull book given to me by Kerfe. Any ideas? I almost think it could be a bobcat. I’ve heard we are starting to get those in our area. Not sure though. 

Tags:

18 responses to “Skull gift”

  1. Michael Richards (certainline) says :

    Kerfe gave you a skull book? How lovely!

  2. colorpencil2014 says :

    Hard to see, but could it be a deer? Fascinating find though!

  3. Sand Salt Moon says :

    Good gawd, we might still have a coyote skull in the back acreage … lol! If you lived nearby I’d welcome you to it!

  4. REcreate-RebeccaEvansCreate says :

    Oh wow this is amazing, I got hold of a bovine skull years back for a friends son to paint, it looked great….I on the other hand have a horse skull, which my daughter and I found out on the forest, it had been there a long time, completely white, we originally found some v large bones, I became excited and we thought we would find the skull of a large red deer, days later, after much searching, by daughter arrived on the pony clutching her find…i’ I found the head she shouted’ it was a horse! I also have a deer skull, quite a collection. I don’t think we have the creature you have found in the uk? The closest similar over here is a badger skull?? Well spotted

  5. memadtwo says :

    I just looked at some raccoon skulls, and I think you might be right. They can get pretty big. It’s a great gift, in any case! (K)

  6. kestrelart says :

    Can you give us more views please and a rule measure?

  7. melbasnaturalbydesign says :

    Hi Nina,
    You are full of surprises. Very interesting find. Frankly I get a little freaked with skulls. But nevertheless unique and interesting.

  8. YesterdayAfter says :

    Oh wow! What a interesting find it is hard to really see what animal could be maybe a very large raccoon, also a coyote is possible but since we don’t see much of the mouth is hard to say, I don’t think it is a feline the skull is pretty much elongated then round, maybe a big opossum???

Leave a Reply

